Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Resentment over free textbook

The sudden decision of Assam government to distribute free text books among government aided school students across the state draws resentment from various sections including the All Assam Publishers and Book Sellers Association. Terming the move as disastrous for the book publishers of the state, GiriPad Devchodhury, proprietor of Bani Prakash urged the government to change its order. Otherwise, it would bring about havoc to the publishing industry of the state, Devchodhury added.

Noted critic Dr. Hiren Gohain also has expressed concern over the government move.

All Assam Students’ Association (AASU), on the other hand, protested against the free distribution of text books as the students are not availing books. ‘Even in the passing of 28 days of the current academic year the government could not make available text for the students. It reflects the government callous attitude towards the students community of the state’, said AASU general secretary Lurin Jyoti Gogoi.

Besides AASU, All Assam Minority Students’ Association (AAMSU), All Bodo Students’ Association (ABSU) too protested against the state government’ recent move to distribute free text books among school students. All the students’ organizations urged the government to take urgent step for proper distribution of the text books.

Author info

Raktim Baruah's picture

Journalist based in Guwahati. Mobile: 9706390337. Email:

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Ethnographical blog on Karbis earning rave reviews globally

15 Nov 2009 - 2:45am | Aiyushman Dutta
In recent times, blogging has touched the lives of every individual one way or the other. During the last general elections, we saw BJP’s prime ministerial candidate LK Advani using this...

Lakhipur Alongbar lift Daokha trophy

19 Oct 2015 - 5:51pm | Hantigiri Narzary
 Lakhipur Alongbar lifted the Bigrai Mushahary (Daokha) memorial football trophy defeating Simbargaon Bithorai Club 4-0 in Monday’s final match at Bismuri ground in Kokrajhar....

Power tariff hearing on Saturday

17 May 2013 - 8:33pm | Anup Biswas
The Assam Electricity Regulatory Commission on Saturday will hear a petition challenging Assam State Electricity Board’s move to hike in power tariff. The public hearing over the proposed hike is...