Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Youth Congress assembly constituency poll results declared in Golaghat

The results of the elections to the five assembly constituencies of the Golaghat District Youth Congress were declared on Sunday. The polling which started at 8.00 am in the morning continued till 3.00 pm in the evening. A total of seventy four candidates contested in the organizational election. Though the election was considered a step in eliminating family dynasty by encouraging the rank and file in the Youth Congress to contest, the results show that the out of five president elected today, two were sons of ruling MLAs. Naikhit Phukan, elected president of Youth Congress for Bokakhat constituency is the son of present MLA Arun Phukan. He polled 123 votes, and defeated Debojyoti Bhuyan, son of Bhupen Bhuyan, Ex-MLA of Bokakhat constituency. He polled 115 votes and would be appointed as the new vice- president. Other dynasts included Dr. Abhishek Tirki, son of sitting MLA of Sarupathar constituency. He was declared as the President of Sarupathar assembly constituency Youth Congress with a total of 163 votes, and defeated Pulok Handique who polled 57 votes. On the other hand Bibeka Rajkhowa was elected as the president of the Golaghat assembly constituency Youth Congress while Abdul Manik was elected as Vice-president. Rajkhowa received a total of 123 votes while Manik received 70 votes. In Khumtai assembly constituency, Diganta Bailung was elected as president with a total of 120 votes while Pranjal Saikia was elected as vice president with a total vote of 84. In Dergaon constituency, Nilotpal Bora was elected as president with 30 votes. The post of vice president was bagged by Sabir Ali with 20 votes. Till the filing of this report the counting for the President of Kaliabor Lok Sabha Youth Congress is going on.

Author info

Ritupallab Saikia's picture

Add new comment


More Stories

Free summer coaching class begins

8 Jul 2014 - 8:00pm | Hantigiri Narzary
 A month long free summer coaching class for class X students begins from Wednesday at Patgaon High School during summer vacations in Kokrajhar.  It was organised by Kokrajhar district...

Gogoi lambasts Ajmal

22 Mar 2014 - 9:05pm | AT News
Amid allegations of secret poll pact between Congress and AIUDF, chief minister Tarun Gogoi severally criticized Badaruddin Ajaml saying that the AIUDF president is not concerned with the issues...

Hepatitis B vaccination camp for scribes

29 Apr 2015 - 5:16pm | AT News
The Dispur Hospital has organized another Hepatitis B vaccination camp for scribes at  Guwahati Press Club on 5 May 2015. The city based media persons, who had already taken the first dose of...