Skip to content Skip to navigation

1500 BJP-AGP workers join Congress in Nagaon

The AGP & BJP received a setback when 1500 workers of Nagaon district joined congress on Sunday, at the open meeting “Gana Samabesh” held at Deodhar in Nagaon district, organized by Pakhimoria Block congress. The meeting was organized as a mark of celebration of 125th year completion of Congress and the Teacher’s Day which was attended by Assam Social Welfare minister Akon Bora as a chief guest. Beside Bora, Dr. Durlav Chamua, Anuwar Hussain and other senior congress leaders also graced the function. The minister and the senior leaders were welcomed by the organizing committee with Gayan- Bayan. The newly joined congress workers were greeted and felicitated by Dr. Durlav Chamua. The members who joined the Congress praised the dynamic leadership of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh and Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi. “ Congress government of Assam has done a lot of development of the state and this attracted us to join congress”, told to media while talking with a newly joined member.

Chamua while addressing to the mass, spoke that the development of Assam is only possible under congress government. “Congress works for common people”, he added. Moreover he told that Tarun Gogoi led government has been always working for the betterment of common people.

Akon Bora, who attended as the chief guest, on his speech, warmly welcomed the newly joined members. He told that people have now understood that the Congress is the party who always think for the common mass and for our works it has attracted a large sum of people of different political parties.

Author info

DigantaTalukdar's picture

Add new comment

Random Stories

Student injured in group clash

27 Aug 2012 - 1:17am | editor
Four boys were injured when group of students clashed in Morigaon on Saturday. The incident took place at a boys' hostel of Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya at Morigaon Saturday night. According to police...

OIL to pump up Rs 1,200 cr

27 Sep 2014 - 9:38pm | AT News
Oil India announces Rs 1,200 crore investment in the state to revamp the pump stations of pipelines for carrying crude to refineries. The announcement came from OIL Chairman and Managing Director...

Torch light rally in Kokrajhar

25 Jun 2018 - 2:12pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
  KOKRAJHAR: A torch light cum prayer rally was organised in Kokrajhar on Sunday evening to pray for a fruitful peace talk in between interlocutor Mathur and National Democratic Front of...