Skip to content Skip to navigation

Bharatiya Vidyarathi Sena' s huge victory in RTUSU Elections

In Rabindranath Tagore's University first Students Union election for the session 2019-20 held on Monday. Shiv Sena's students wing Bharatiya Vidyarathi Sena won 11 posts out of 13, on the other hand Bharatiya Janta Party's students wing  Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad has to satisfy with 2 posts and National Students Union lost on all the four post in which their candidates stood.

Abhijit Roy (ABVP)  was elected as President and Raju Engti (ABVP) as Boys Common Room Secretary.

Abhishek Chouhan (BVS) as Vice-President, Titan Debnath (BVS) as General Secretary, Jainath Chauhan  (BVS) as Assistant General Secretary, Subrajit Debnath  (BVS) as Cultural Secretary, Suraj Debnath (BVS) as Outdoors Games Secretary, Pradeep Chauhan (BVS) as Indoors Games Secretary, Sushanta Debnath  (BVS) as Debate and Symposium Secretary,Prasenjit Ghosh (BVS) as Social Service Secretary, Akash Das  (BVS) as Students Aid Fund Secretary, Suraj Das (BVS) as Magazine Secretary,  and Anamika Saha (BVS) as Girls Common Room Secretary.

The Polling were held under the direction of Shusuman Sarkar (Election Officer), Dewakar Goswami, Ajmal Haque Chaudhaury, Dr.Manoj Kumar Swami and Dr.Satyatjit Kumar(Joint Election Officer).

Talking to this Correspondent Joint Election Officer  Dr. Manoj Kumar Swami  said,"The polling started on Monday morning at 8 am onwards, Continued till 12 Noon. Around 53% Students casted the vote."

"We are very thankful to Police authorities, Fire Brigade Department, Medical Department for making proper arrangements during the election." Dr. Swami  added.

Newly elected General Secretary from BVS Titan Debnath expressed his happiness over their victory.

"In upcoming one year we will do such developmental works in the university that again Bharatiya Vidhayarti Sena will get such love and votes for next term.", Debnath said

On the other hand, Hojai College Students Union's Former   President Srisendhu Debnath (ABVP) along with newly elected President Abhijit Roy (ABVP) said," We will work with unison with BVS for the betterment of our University."

"May be our volunteers didn't work nicely  that why we are restricted to two posts.", They said.

Meanwhile, volunteers of both the parties are enjoying their respective victory by smearing colours and busting crackers.

Author info

Nikhil Mundra's picture

Journalist Based in Hojai Town.

Add new comment

Random Stories

ABSU demands punishments of culprits

7 Mar 2017 - 4:00pm | AT News
 The All Bodo Students Union(ABSU) strongly condemned attacked on AASU office at Shilapothar of Dhemaji district and arrests all the culprits involved with vandalism to AASU office and...

Three held in coal trader attack case

4 Feb 2018 - 1:33pm | AT News
DUDHNOI: Police on Sunday have arrested three persons a day after they allegedly shot at a coal trader in Jogighopa in Goalpara district on Saturday. Hours after the coal trader Azmul Haque sustained...

Jorhat trade fair from Wednesday

27 Oct 2015 - 8:08am | AT News
Jorhat is gearing up for the international trade fair on Wednesday. Preparations have reached the final stage. Organisers told Assam Times that Bangladesh, Bhutan, Pakistan, Nepal and Thailand...