Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Election at Barpeta Xatra

Barpeta Xatra has the traadition of elected office bearers. This year for the election of Deka xatriya 3 candidates and 45 members filed nomination papers on the last day of filing nomination papers. On the other hand, for the three yaears term of the Xatra managing committee for 28 seats a total of 45 members filed own nomination papers at the Barpeta Xatra election officer vs ADC Binaykrishna Barua. According report said that 7 seats candidates confirmed to be elected without contest. The 3 candidates for the Deka Xatriya seaSadhu charan Das, Nabajit Das Pathak, and Manoranjan Adhikary. The election will be commence on June 28 in 15 polling centres and the counting will also be held on that very day at DC office premises.

Author info

Juthika Das's picture

Journalist from Barpeta.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Who is Rome Neog in Arunachal?

15 Dec 2015 - 10:04am | AT News
Romeo Neog, the name of a person from Assam seems to have taken the centre stage of political storm in Arunachal Pradesh. But who is he? What is he? Where is the person? These are the questions that...

Speaker Ranjit Kumar Das to grace Emfa program

20 Sep 2016 - 8:17pm | Azlina Khanam
Assam Legislative Assembly Speaker Ranjit Das will grace the next interactive session of Electronic Media Forum Assam (Emfa) on 27 September at Guwahati Press Club. The program titled ‘Prangon, the...

Painting and photography exhibition at Diphu

14 Aug 2010 - 2:36pm | editor
A painting and photography exhibition will be held at Diphu on August 18-19 which is being organised by Curves & Shades. Exhibitions by “Curves & Shades” has attracted due attention...