Skip to content Skip to navigation

Tudu resigns

In a political development in BTC region, Chrisostom Tudu, BTC Executive Member from Congress in the council tendered his resignation to BTC Chief Hagrama Mohilary after holding hardly one-year office in the council today as the party high command asked him to step down from his post after the Bodoland Peoples Front broke down the eight-year alliance with the Congress.

Tudu, executive member for Information and Public Relation, Excise, Library Services and Museum and Archeological departments in the Council submitted his resignation letter today in the presence of official and partymen at BTC Chief’s office chamber at BTC Secretraiat in Kokrajhar.

Prafullo Kumar Hazoary, BTC Secretary received the resignation letter of Tudu on behalf of BTC Chief Hagrama Mohilary,who is stated to be New Delhi and BTC Principal Secretary MC Sahu,who is out of station.Hazoary said that he will forward it to the Chief of BTC for the necessary steps.

Tudu was elected to BTCLA from Srirampur constituency on Congress ticket and inducted as executive member in the Council on July 12 in 2013 in place of Santius Kujur, who was nominated as the Rajya Sabha MP in last year.

Tudu said he had submitted his resignation letter to Mohilary as the party high command asked him to step down from his post after the Bodoland People’s Front broke down the eight-year alliance with the Congress.

 ‘All development comes through party spirit and discipline,so he has tendered his resignation following the direction from party high command’, Tudu said.

He said that he had served his office as he was offered departments during in his year long office and offered heartfelt thanks to the concern officials and citizens of the council for extending kind co-operations.

He said that Congress will work for the upliftment of peoples of the region and his party is strengthening party spirits in the region.He said the party will field candidates in all constituencies of the council election slated to be held in next year.He has also expressed his hopeful said that Congress party would get mass support in the region and manage to rule the council winning majority seats.  

The 46 member BTC house presently has 39 elected members out of 40 member house,of which one constituency is lying vacancy after Kujur nominated as Rajya Sabah MP,of which BPF 33, Congress four, BPPF and UDPF one each respectively in the council and 6 are nominated from unrepresented communities.

The BPF party broke down the alliance with Congress alleging Dispur’s failure to provide security to the people of BTAD and indifferent attitude towards the BTC administration on June 26.



Add new comment

Random Stories

Brothers lynched by irate villagers in Baksa district of Assam

23 Apr 2020 - 10:30pm | Shajid Khan
BAKSA: In a hair raising incident, two brothers were allegedly lynched by a mob of irate villagers in the victims residence in Athiabari village near Simaluguri in Lower Assam’s Baksa district 120...

Tangla AASU fetes meritorious students

9 Jul 2018 - 8:42am | Shajid Khan
TANGLA : In a bid to build a competitive mindset among the students, the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) Tangla regional unit organized a special felicitation programme for the meritorious HSLC...

Dissidents met Ahmed Patel

26 Nov 2014 - 7:01am | AT News
At least 12 Congress legislators have been camping in New Delhi to revive the dissidence against Tarun Gogoi as chief minister. They met AICC leader Ahmed Patel on Tuesday and demanded implementation...