Skip to contentSkip to navigation

New Award constituted for artists

Department of Cultural Affairs has constituted the District Level Silpi Award to honour senior artists who are socially and culturally recognized for their remarkable creations, dedication and contribution in the field of dance, drama, music and fine arts. The award will be given away annually on Silpi Divas (January 17) each year coinciding with the Death Anniversary of Roop Konwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala. One artist from each Legislative Assembly Constituency of the State shall be conferred with this Award which will carry a cash prize of Rs.15,000 and a citation.

The Award is open to all persons of eminence in the field of fine art, culture and music in particular to the district of the State to which they belong (they should be permanent residents of the district) regardless of race, caste, creed, religion or sex, having the reputation of performing at the District or State level for their work and performance at the District or State level.

The Award is only for persons and not any association, institution or organization.

Only a person who has attained the age of 60 and above shall be considered for this Award. If a person passes away after being selected for the Award, he/she shall be eligible for consideration for the Award posthumously.

A person who has received the Silpi Award at the State level or has already been considered for the District Level Silpi Award will not be considered again for the Award.

An Award Selection Committee in each district will be constituted with the Deputy Commissioner of the concerned district as Chairman, Member of the Legislative Assembly Constituency as Member, Artist Pensioners of the district as Members, a prominent Scholar in the field of Art/ Literature/ Culture nominated by the Deputy Commissioner as Member and the Cultural Officer of the district as Member Secretary. The District Administrations will invite nominations from each Legislative Assembly Constituency for the Award from socio literary and cultural organizations of the district, district level offices of Assam Sahitya Sabha or similar organisations and from Cultural Centres within the District under the Directorate of Cultural Affairs latest by November 30 ever year. The District Administrations will place the nominations received before the Award Selection Committee within December 15. The Committee will then prepare a Select List of the proposed Awardees and place the same before the Secretary, Cultural Affairs Department for approval. Persons recommended by the Committee but not selected for the Award may be reconsidered the next year. The entire process for selection of the Awardee(s) is to be completed by December 20.

Author info

Peter Alex Todd's picture

Journalist, musician.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Woman dies post operation

24 Sep 2016 - 9:35pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
A 51-year-old woman was died post gall- blooder operation at RNB civil hospital today in Kokrajhar due to wrong treatment. On the other hand, attending doctor said that operation was successfully...

Another AAP nomination rejected

22 Mar 2014 - 9:04pm | AT News
Yet another AAP candidate won’t be able to contest in the upcoming Lok Sabha poll.Tezpur returning officer has rejected the nomination papers of Aam Admi Party candidate during the scrutiny on...

All bodies found in Baksa

13 Jul 2014 - 8:30pm | AT News
 JINTUL TALUKDAR, BAKSA: Security forces on Sunday have recovered the remaining bodies of the lemon traders two days after they were kidnapped by suspected NDFB-S militants in Baksa district....