Skip to content Skip to navigation

Electioneering in Dima Hasao getting momentum

In order to ensure smooth and proper management and free fair, peaceful conduct of Assembly election from 16-Haflong (ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency is in full swing. Already detailed plan of action has been chalked out for performance of various duties to be carried out by the election machinery prior to, during and after the poll.16 (sixteen) different cells and sub-cells have already started functioning to ensure free and fair election process and prompt disposable of the works related to conduct of the poll scheduled to be held on April 4th next.

D. Borthakur. IAS, Deputy Commissioner & Returning Officer 16-Haflong (ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency and R.K Laskar. ACS, Election Officer, has held several meetings with all Government Officials and political parties to strictly follow the model code of conduct. He also directed the Zonal Magistrates and sector officers to ensure proper and strict observance of the code of conduct. In a meeting with the political parties and press media the Deputy Commissioner requested all of them to adhere to certain guidelines as issued by the Election Commission of India. He also requested everyone to give full cooperation to the District Administration for a free and fair election.

For smooth and proper management of the poll, the 16-Haflong (ST) LAC has been divided into 11 zones, 53 sectors with 189 polling stations. The total number of general voters are 130248 (Male-66426, Female-63822) and service voters are 142 (Male-126, Female-16).

In the Assembly Election 2006, the total number of voters were 126814 (Male-64876, Female-61938 ) which includes 109 (Male-96, Female-13) service voters. It is noteworthy that in the previous Assembly election from 16-Haflong (ST) LAC, the total number of voters turn out were 94481 (Male-49834, Female-44647) which includes 144 postal votes and 14 rejected votes, and the valid vote was 94467.Candidate wise vote polled in the last Assembly election’2006 were: G.C Langthasa (INC)-40154, Prakanta Warisa (ASDC)-32336, Kulendra Daulagupu (BJP)-16746,Arun Chandra Haflongbar (AGP)-2672, and Rajatmoni Thaosen (CPI-ML)-2559.

In the meantime the EVM Warehouse was opened by the Deputy Commissioner & Returning Officer 16-Haflong (ST) LAC in the presence of Shri V.P Patel. IAS, General Observer 16-Haflong (ST) LAC, Shri. S.K Das.IRS, Expenditure Observer 16-Haflong (ST) LAC along with the candidates and agents.

Author info

Anup Biswas's picture

Anup Biswas - Journalist from Haflong.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Illicit liquor seized

4 May 2016 - 7:06am | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
At least nine women were apprehended by female constable of SSB of 16th battalion(Bn) for involved  in the smuggling who were trying to evade the international border,besides seized illicit...

Jaiklong's wife files petition

5 Sep 2014 - 8:46pm | Hantigiri Narzary
Family members of arrested television journalist Jaiklong Brahma alleged that police has not yet made medical care available to him. His wife Citra Brahma claimed that her husband suffers from high...

Book fair and science exhibition at Udalguri

2 May 2012 - 8:00pm | Jayanta Kumar Das
Udalguri district administration and office of the Inspector of Schools,Udalguri have organised a three day long Grantha Surabhi and Bijnan Jeuti ( book fair and science exhibition) under the...