Skip to content Skip to navigation

Prosters fish on the road

KOKRAJHAR: At a time when state PWD minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma drumming for renovation of all PWD roads across the state, citizens from greater Bhotgaon area in Kokrajhar, heart of BTAD have expressed resentment. The protested with fishing in the Kokrajhar-Bilashipara Road in Kokrajhar district on Tuesday.

Hundreds of peoples from all walks of life thronged at the main road at Bhotgaon with banner,placards and show their anger and protest with net  fishing in protest against the deplorable road conditions on the roads since few long years.

The Kokrajhar-Bilashipara road is a main road connecting Dhubri district and adjoining areas, but remained dilapidated for a long time due to insincerity from the PWD department.

Agitated peoples come out with fishing net and started fishing on the road which was organized by All BTAD Minority Student's Union (ABMSU) to put pressure on government for early repairment of the road.

Few months back Kokrajhar DC promised to start work on renovation of the road through the PWD department.

Agitated ABMSU leaders strongly criticised the government for inaction.

"Government never heard people's needy voice and so we have to come out with fishing net to fish on the road", ABMSU leaders said.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Bodos remember Bineswar Brahma

19 Aug 2017 - 10:48pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau

The Bodo Sahitya Sabha (BSS) remembered Subungthini Thandwi Bineswar Brahma, former president of Bodo Sahitya Sabha, paying floral tribute at burial place o his 17th death anniversary  in Kokrajhar on Saturday.

Brahma was shot dead by armed extremist at his Bhetapara residence in Guwahati on 19th August in 2000 when he was president of the Bodo Sahitya Sabha. He was deputy general manager in FCI for northeast region.

A lecture on the life of late Bineswar Brahma also held on the occasion with Taren Boro, president of the sabha in the chair. Padmashri(Dr) Kameswar Brahma,former president of Bodo sahitya sabha, Deepti Prasad Brahma, former secretary of Upendra Nath Brahma Trust attended the occasion as resource persons.

Taren Boro,president of the sabha remembered the contributions of late Brahma said that late Brahma was the man of great dedicated.

Former Rajya Sabha MP Urkhao Gwra Brahma, paying homage to late Brahma said that Bineswar Brahma was the harbinger of peace in the region.

Sahitya Akademy awardee Brajendra Kumar Brahma,Ranjit Kumar Borgoyary,ex-president of Tribal Sangha,Jayanta Basumatary,ABSU speaker were prominent attendees on the occasion.

Relief to flood affected people in Majuli

27 Nov 2012 - 3:58pm | editor

Society for Srimanta Sankaradeva extended some assistance to the flood & erosion affected people of Majuli on November 22, 2012. The relief operation was carried out in Salmora area, which happens to be the worst affected area in Majuli. People are still living on embankment there as they have lost their homes to erosion. While they received some aid from different corners during the monsoon season, now they have no relief as the donors are under the impression that the flood affected people have returned to own homes. But these people do not have any home at all where they can return to. Some people were even starving, the Society learnt. So Society for Srimanta Sankaradeva spent some amount from its account within its capability to distribute food materials consisting of rice and lentil among the homeless people.

Volunteers of Society for Srimanta Sankaradeva who offered their invaluable service in giving assistance to the flood-affected people on November 22 are : Anirban Dutta, Bijit Dutta, Mitu Khataniar, Jadumoni Saikia, Lakhi Bhuyan, Ajit Hazarika, Sanjib Das, Jibeswar Kalita, Bhaiti Hatimota and Dhrubajyoti Bora. Rajib Dutta and Pradip Hazarika also put in contributions in arranging things.

Society for Srimanta Sankaradeva has been associated with the effort to get Majuli enlisted as a World Heritage Site.

Expulsion letters to Arunachal Congress MLAs

4 Mar 2016 - 9:46pm | AT News Itanagar

Reacting strongly against the expulsion letter to two former Congress MLA's - Basar MLA Gojen Gadi and Yachuli MLA Likha Saaya on March 3 by Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee who recently merged to PPA along with other 28 congress MLAs, the duo has termed the letter as unauthentic and alleged APCC President Padi Richo as main cause behind all political turmoil in the state for last six months.

Speaking to reporters at Itanagar press club on Friday, the former minister Gojen Gadi told that they are no more Congress members as they merged to regional party, moreover they didn’t received any letter or notice duly signed by high command or APCC President stating expulsion from congress as per norms but only a signed copy of APCC General Secretary in the morning of March 4 that too after merging into PPA.

‘I am a congress loyalist leader but people have mandated us to work for the state, not to run behind the Court. For last six month all the development work in the state were in dormant situation , so for the sake of denizen we 11 Congress MLAs from Tuki Camp joined the Pul team as they are also a Congress and formed congress government till March 2’ said Gadi.

While slamming APCC president P Richo for his failure to decipher the party differences, he  opined that the Chief Minister's post is not for particular person, indeed majority of then Congress MLAs has chosen Pul as CLP leader then why AICC and  APCC were adamant. Moreover the new Chief Minister is an experience leader,  we hope that under his leadership state will surly sees new developments,  Gadi added.

‘AICC and APCC made mockery of their own party and murdered their own loyal leaders’ slammed MLA Likha Saya while terming the expulsion letter as unauthentic. Stating that he said Party is not bad but some leaders are. I have spent my half life as a loyal youth congress leader to an MLA  but today they has reward us with expulsion letter for our service to congress, he lamented.

While responding to the query, Saaya clarified that they didn’t went out of party discipline but remained in the congress party. Majority has voted for Pul as the CLP leader because they lost confidence on Tuki then why APCC president are adamant. Whereas, during Former CM late Jarbom Gamlin tenure there was equal majority on both camp but with gentlemen nature Late Gamlin has voluntarily tendered resignation for the sake of state in party meeting held at Delhi based hotel, then why deposed CM Tuki is so obstinated when he has left with only countable Members, added Saaya.