Skip to content Skip to navigation

Three arrested in Junu Sarma murder case


GUWAHATI: The Kamrup Police have arrested three persons in connection with the murder of senior State Bank India (SBI) official Junu Sarma.Police in a pre-dawn raid on Sunday arrested the three persons–Putul Ali alias Saddam Hussain, Sunil Kumar Mishra and Pranab Kalita from different places.While Putul alias Saddam is a loan recovery agent, Mishra is an official of SBI’s Dadara branch. Pranab, who was detained by police for questioning after the incident, is a driver of the vehicle of bank official Sarma.The arrested accused persons were produced in the Kamrup CJM’s court, which sent them to 14-day police custody.The 56-year-old woman official of SBI’s Dadara branch was shot dead by unidentified gunmen at Agyathuri under Dadara police station on the outskirts of Guwahati on Tuesday night (Oct 9) while she was returning from office to her residence at Nizarapar in Chandmari here.Assam DGP Kuladhar Saikia said that the way things seem to have unfolded certainly makes it a case of a pre-planned murder.“We are probing all possible angles that have emerged so far, especially the one related to bank-related operation. We would get to the root of the case very soon,” Saikia had said.He said that the statements of all the eye-witnesses have been recorded and the investigators are on .

Author info

AT News Guwahati's picture

Add new comment

Random Stories

Blast at Jorhat at 6.45 PM on Tuesday

7 Aug 2007 - 12:26pm | editor
Jorhat : There was a bomb blast at Jorhat in front of Sadar Police station at 6.45 PM on Tuesday evening. The bomb was planted in a pan shop. Total 3 people have been killed, 18 are injured, out of...

Now Bodos demand a separate state

30 Jan 2012 - 1:30am | Daya Nath Singh
With growing intolerance and unrest minds among the youths of the country, demand for creating smaller states is growing day by day. Recently Uttar Pradesh Assembly has adopted a resolution to...

FINER wishlist to Centre

6 Feb 2015 - 8:08pm | AT News
FINER chief R S Joshi Ramesh Goenka, Chairman, Taxation Committee FINER, Pabitra Buragohain, Vice Chairman, Sandeep Khaitan, Treasurer, FINER, Bajrang Lohia, Director FINER, and Abhijit Barua...