Skip to content Skip to navigation

City's FM channel to present Puja Award

Based on the scientific hygienist and religious fervour and logical belief and also environment friendly criterion the best Puja Committee of the eight nominees namely Rest Camp Kalibari Durgotsav, Binapani, Nayantar Puja Samity, Lachitnagar Sarvajanin Durgotsav, Guwahati Barwari Puja Committee, Fancy Bazar Puja Samity, Rehabari Bilpar Puja Samity and West Silpukhuri Puja Samity will be presented the one prestigious BIG PUJA AWRD intiated by Big 92.7 FM. This was informed by one of the jury member for BIG Puja Award Anuradha Sharma Pujari in presence of Associate Producer Rupam and Station Director BIG FM Swapon Sinha at a media interaction at Guwahati Press Club. The other jury member are singer Pulok Banerjee who also addressed the media and actor Nishita Goswami

Rupom added that the reason for initiation this award since 2007 are to give the people of Guwahati an opportunity to also express their views about the puja celebrations and the best Puja Pandal in the city according to them and to recognize the efforts of the various Puja Pandals in organizing and presenting a spectacular show and encourage them to do better, on the lines of similar contests held in other metropolitan cities of the country.

BIG Puja Awards are the two different awards namely:BIG Public Choice Award & BIG Jury Award The panel announced the list of the 8 nominated Pujas. The BIG Public Choice Awards will be decided by SMS votes received from the listening public of Guwahati. Speaking on the occasion, Mr Swapan Sinha, Station Head of BIG 92.7 FM, Guwahati said that "It is a great honour for BIG 92.7 FM to join the people of Guwahati in recognizing and celebrating the tradition of Sarvajanin Durga Puja and encouraging the organizers to higher standards of excellence and service. These awards will highlight Durga Puja Celebrations of Guwahati to the rest of the country and make us proud.
Author info

Nanda Kirati Dewan's picture

Nanda Kumar Dewan is our Senior Journalist covering Community Development & International Relations. He is a Mass Communication & Journalism graduate from Sikkim Manipal University (SMU). He started his journalism career with UB Photos News agency in 2006 as News Photo Caption Editor and Photojournalist. He has been associated with Assam Times since it's inception and today is a part of our editorial team.

Add new comment

Random Stories

KLO ultra held

11 Mar 2016 - 7:40pm | Hantigiri Narzary
In a joint operation launched by the security forces from Assam Police and Army apprehended a cadre of Kamatapur Liberation Organization (KLO) at Salakati village under Kokrajhar PS on Friday....

ASDC demands for election to DHAC

20 Jul 2012 - 2:52pm | Anup Biswas
The Autonomous State Demand Committee (ASDC) Dima Hasao District Committee demanded the holding of general election to Dima Hasao Autonomous Council (DHAC) in the scheduled time i.e. in November/...

Ultimatum on Lafikul killing probe

10 Aug 2017 - 9:11pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
Many parties, organizations and individuals have been demanding speedy probe into the killing of Lafikul Islam Ahmed to put the culprits behind the bars. Student unions in Kokrajhar have threatened...