Skip to content Skip to navigation

Keen contest in 70 Mazbat LAC

Even though there are maximum eleven candidates in the fray in 70 Mazbat legislative constituency in Udalguri district, with highest nine independents, the mail contest would be likely between ruling BPF and Congress followed by UPP. After a general survey of the constituency done by a group of media persons of Udalguri district today, it has come to light that the contest would be likely between the ruling Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) and the Congress parties but miracle may not be ruled out in case of the regional United People’s Party (UPP) and the AIUDF parties with the help of division of votes. Since, there were no dissidents from the BPF and Congress, so, most of the voters seem to see the fight straight between the Congress and the BPF while the dissident groups of the BJP and AIUDF may create troubles to the concerned contesting candidates of the AIUDF and the BPF as three ticket aspirants of the BJP and two of AIUDF are also in the fray. But, the full swing campaigning of the UPP candidate Rabindra Basumatary cannot be ignored as it would have influence in the tribal as well as general areas of the constituency.

The contesting candidates from 70 Mazbat LAC are as follows : Teharu Gorh of AIUDF, Raphael Kuzur of Congress, Charan Boro of BPF, Abul Quasin, Sapna Daimary, Baldev Chouhan, Manoj Kumar Tamuly, Lal Soren, Girish Chandra Choudhury, Sunil Sarkar and Rabindra Basumatary all as independents. Among them Rabindra Basumatary belongs to the regional UPP while Baldev Chouhan is from the Lok Janashakti Party(LJP).

Meanwhile, all the contesting candidates of Congress, BPF, UPP AIUDF and other independents were seen trying to woo the voters particularly in the tea garden and general areas. But it will be the power of 1,32,596 voters among whom 63,673 are female voters would decide the fate of the contesting candidates in the 70 Mazbat LAC where the election would be held on April 4 next in the first phase in the 165 polling stations where 31 polling stations were identified as very sensitive, 64 sensitive and 70 comparatively safe.It is to be noted that no common men alleged about any form of pressure, threats or personal influence from any contesting candidate or any party in the constituency to the group of visiting media persons of the district while they appreciated the awareness initiatives by Udalguri district administration by way of holding street plays, voters’ awareness campaigning for the senior citizens, womenfolk and the specially abled voters of the constituency.Poll will be held in 70 Mazbat LAC on April 4


Author info

Jayanta Kumar Das's picture

Environmental journalist.

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

ASDC flayed the Assam Government

1 Sep 2012 - 3:45am | Anup Biswas
The Autonomous State Demand Committee(ASDC) Dima Hasao District Committee flayed the Assam Government for its failure to prevent the extortion of money as 'house tax' from the villagers living in the...

Poachers killed in Kaziranga

5 Jun 2014 - 10:47am | AT News
Two rhino poachers were killed at an encounter with forest guards in Kaziranga on Thursday. The one hour long gun battle near the Dipholu forest camp in Burapahar in the wee hours where the poacher...

Centre releases Rs 193 cr

9 Sep 2015 - 10:52pm | AT News
Amid a bitter blame game between Sarbananda Sonowal and Tarun Gogoi over the flood assistance, the Centre on Wednesday released Rs 193 crore to Dispur.The Chief Minister’s Office told Assam Times...