Skip to content Skip to navigation

Swearing ceremony of BTC new council

The ruling BPF is forming the new executive council with unconditional supports from three independents and 14 executive members are taking oath of office and secrecy, who were elected to the council which included Chief, Deputy Chief on Sunday at a glittering ceremony at Bodofa Nwgwr ground, near BTC Secretariat in Kokrajhar.

Hagrama Mohilary, BPF president and leader of BPF legislature party, addressing the reporters today in Kokrajhar announced the names of 14 new executive council members including an independent to be sworn including Chief,Deputy Chief and Executive Members, who were elected from his party and one independent in the recent concluded council election.

Hagrama Mohilary(Debargaon,Kokrajhar) will take oath of office and secrecy as Chief, Kampa Borgoyary(Chirang Duar,Chirang) as Deputy Chief, three executive members from Kokrajhar includes Mrithunjoy Narzary(Saraibil),Rajib Brahma(Banargaon) and Daneswar Goyary(Baokungri). Four elected members including an independent was inducted as executive members from Baksa district included Ansumwi Khungur Boro(Mushalpur),Deben Boro(Goibari),Gnaesh Kachary(Suklai Serfang) and Maheswar Basumatary(Independent from Goreswar) are taking oath of office and secrecy.Five members from Udalguri are to be sworn includes Lwmsrao Daimary(Khwirabari),Jagadish Sarkar(Mudwibari),Bomjar Daimary(Khalingduar),Alindra Kumar Moshahary(Rowta) and Shyam Sundi(Pasnwi Serfang).

Mohilary also announced that Tridib Daimary(Harisinga) and Nerswn Boro(Bhergaon),both from Udalguri district as Speaker and Deputy Speaker in the BTC Legislative Assembly respectively.

He told that Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya and Chief Secretary Jitesh Khosla are attending the ceremony as chief guest and guest.

He said that the BPF is forming the council with unconditional supports from three independents Maheswar Basumatary(Goreswar), Atin Hasong(Manash Serfang) and Chakradhar Das (Salbari).

He has also assured that remaining elected members who were not inducted in the executive council,would be given in-charges of departmental in the council.

He has opined that proper implementation of Bodo Accord(BA) will be given most priority besides building of peace and development among various communities in his third consecutive terms in the council.  

A massive preparation has completed so far by this evening to hold the ceremonial function at Bodofa Nwgwr ground in Kokrajhar and security has also beefed up in the region.

Author info

Hantigiri Narzary's picture

Reporting from Kokrajhar

Add new comment

Random Stories

Gogoi to undergo bypass heart surgery

27 Jul 2010 - 1:26pm | editor
Assam Chief Minister is all set to undergo bypass heart surgery. According to information, a team of heart specialists at the Max hospital in Delhi will perform bypass surgery in a day or two. Gogoi...

Concentrate on producing players: Kamalesh

3 Sep 2007 - 2:36pm | parthachakraborty
GUWAHATI: Former national table tennis champion and Arjuna awardee Kamalesh Mehta today said Asom should now concentrate on producing good players as it has sports infrastructure in the state which...

Violence: Govt trying to say it NDFB ethnic cleansing

6 Oct 2008 - 5:00pm | editor
A stunned Assam Government is trying to call the string of violence in Udalguri an ethnic cleansing by the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) currently in ceasefire with the government....