Skip to content Skip to navigation

GSP supports UPPL-BJP coalition

Kokrajhar: Ganasakti Party has also come in support of UPPL-BJP coalition to form BTC since ruling BPF fell short of 3 seats at the end of the poll counting on Sunday we hours.

State BJP president Ranjit Das,  senior BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP general secretary Dilip Saikia, UPPL chief Pramod Boro and GSP chief Nabo Sarania met early in the morning in Dispur and finalised the entire deal. 
This could formally end the BPF's alliance with BJP where 3 ministers might resign in a day or two.

Notably, BPF emerged the single largest party with 17 seats, UPPL got 12, BJP 9, 1 seat each for GSP and Congress. AIUDF drew blank.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Central govt employees to receive bihu holiday

12 Apr 2021 - 6:57pm | AT News
After a massive protest, the Central government has, reportedly, decided to restore the Rongali Bihu holiday for its employees posted in Assam. The government, of late, announced no holiday in the...

We need change: Moosahary

20 Mar 2014 - 7:42pm | AT News
Kokrajhar Trinamool Congress Ranjeet Sekhar Moosahary said that the people want change.Talking to reporters in Kokrajhar in the sidelines of a poll meeting, the former Meghalaya Governor said that...

Cong clears 2 more candidates

13 Mar 2014 - 8:36pm | AT News
Barring Mongoldoi, Congress has announced all candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.AICC spokesman Modhusudan Mishtry announced two more names at a press conference in New Delhi on Thursday...