Skip to content Skip to navigation

Gogoi votes in presidential poll

Presidential poll begins in Assam with Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi casting his vote on Thursday. Gogoi, is among the 126 members of the legislative assembly along with member of parliament Bhubneswar Kalita who are expected to cast the vote at the Central Hall of the Assam Assembly.

As soon as the question hour ended at 10 in the morning, the legislators are lined up to cast their votes. Pranab Mukherjee is expected to get support from 112 legislators. Altogether 15 legislators are expected to go with PA Sangma. Parliamentary affairs minister Nilomoni Sendeka represents Pranab Mukherjee while PA Sangma is represented by AGP MLA Bhupen Ray. The ballot boxes are scheduled to be sealed at 5 in the afternoon.

Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment

Random Stories

UPP election rally in Kokrajhar

25 Feb 2016 - 8:48pm | Hantigiri Narzary
The United Peoples Party (UPP), a regional party in BTAD region has prepared its strength to contest in the upcoming assembly election fielding 15 candidates including 12 seats of BTAD. A grand...

ULFA claims responsibility of Demow blast

29 Mar 2012 - 2:26pm | editor
ULFA's Paresh Baruah faction owned up the responsibility of the grenade blast at the Demow police station on Tuesday. In a statement on Wednesday, the outfit alleged that they struck the police...

Sankaradeva fest in Mumbai

18 May 2014 - 5:59pm | Raktim Baruah
Sankaradeva Movement festival at was held in Mumbai on Sunday in collaboration with National Center for Performing Art. The event included discussion, cultural performances,...