Skip to content Skip to navigation

MLA, Silchar Susmita visits tunnel No 10

To take the stock of the situation of ongoing construction of both Mahasarak and Lumding – Silchar B G project of N F Railway, Ms Susmita Dev, MLA, Silchar along with Sri Debojeet Thaosen, Chief Executive Member, Dima Hasao Autonomous Council visited both phases one and two of Tunnel No 10 near Jatinga and Boro Haflong on Sunday.
The construction of this longest tunnel en-route Lumding-Silchar ongoing BG project always remained as the talk of the town because there had been news that the completion of this tunnel was uncertain and the completion of the total projects remains with the completion of this much publicised tunnel.

To know the problems faced by the construction agencies, MLA held discussion with the ABCI officials engaged for the tunnel no 10 at the work site. It is also said that the political career of the political leaders of the Barak Valley solely depend on the completion of the BG and Mahasarak, since there has been no popular issue to raise by the political leaders of Barak Valley.

Ms Deb disclosed that after coming here only she realised the importance of Haflong-Silchar connectivity both by Mahasarak and B G. She also assured that she would be coming frequently to Dima Hasao and also pressurise the Railway authority to complete the project according to its stipulated time.

Author info

Anup Biswas's picture

Anup Biswas - Journalist from Haflong.

Add new comment

Random Stories

4 killed in elephant attack

15 Jul 2014 - 11:42am | Jayanta Kumar Das
Man-elephant conflict has taken serious turn in Udalguri district following deaths of four more persons at Coramore near India-Bhutan border last night on July 14. According to information a wild...

Nido killers caught

1 Feb 2014 - 12:24pm | AT News
Delhi police on Saturday claimed to have caught two youths in connection with the Lajpotnagar incident where goons thrashed an Arunachal Pradesh student to death on Thursday.Sources told Assam Times...

Assam, 5 other states ARWSP beneficiaries

2 Apr 2008 - 11:13pm | editor
Rural development ministry has granted a total of Rs 114.16 crores to Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland and Jammu...