Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Debating Competition held

The tenth Manash Borah Memorial North East Inter Institutional Debating Competition was concluded successfully on 31 May 2019 at Pragjyoti ITA, Machkhowa, Guwahati. More than twenty teams from across the state participated in the hard fought competition. The Competition is sponsored by the Manash Borah Memorial Trust (MBMT) and is organized by Old Boys Association, Sainik School Goalpara (OBASSG), the apex body of the alumni of Sainik School Goalpara, a premier residential school of the region. Manash Borah was an alumnus of SSG and was very instrumental in the formation of OBASSG. It is noteworthy that the Competition has completed a decade of glorious organization (2010-2019).

The Competition was inaugurated by Ranjit Shekhar Mooshahary, former Governor of Meghalaya and former Director General of BSF and NSG. In his speech he complimented the MBMT and the OBASSG for organizing such an excellent competition for the youth of our region. He wished the event all success in years to come. To mark the completion of ten years, he also released a commemorative booklet published by the organisers.

The Competition was smoothly conducted by Prof. Gayatree Goswamee of Gauhati University as the honourable Speaker. The Competition was judged by Partha Pratim Hazarika, Assistant Editor, The Assam Tribune; Dr. Sangeeta Rani Kalita, Assistant Professor, B. R. M. Govt. Law College; and Hiranku Hazarika, Research Scholar, Tezpur University. It needs to be mentioned that the Hiranku Hazarika was the best debator in the inaugural edition in 2010.


After a couple of hours of argument and counter argument and very fierce competition, the following emerged as the winners;

Best Team (Manash Borah Memorial Running Trophy): Cotton University

Members:Tridip Bhagawati and Jajna Pratim Saikia


First Prize (Rs. 8000/-):           Bijit Kalita, Institute of Media and Management Studies, Guwahati

Second Prize (Rs. 6000/-):      Bishal Priyam Deka, Govt. Ayurvedic College

Third Prize (Rs. 2000/-):         Soham Banerjee, Arya Vidyapeeth College

Consolation Prizes (Rs. 1000/- each):Tathagat Sharma, R. J. Junior College; and Pronay Baruah, Maharishi Vidya Mandir, Silpukhuri.


The Prize distribution ceremony was graced by the presence of Capt. (IN) Edwin Jothirajan, the Principal of Sainik School Goalpara.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

AENGO Forum welcomes eviction drive in KNP

22 Sep 2016 - 3:42pm | Jayanta Kumar Das
Assam Environmental NGO Forum welcomes government eviction drive in and around Kaziranga National Park. In a press release,Nitul Sivam Nath,state convener of the Forum said that present eviction...

Sálim Ali bird count

10 Nov 2015 - 12:50pm | Atul Sathe
To commemorate the birth anniversary on November 12 of the ‘Bird Man of India’, late Dr Sálim Ali (1896-1987), Bombay Natural History Society announces the revival of the Sálim Ali Bird Count across...

Bodo militant killed in Udalguri

29 May 2014 - 8:34am | AT News
Security forces claimed to have killed a hardcore NDFB-S militant at an encounter in Udaguri district on Thursday. The encunter took place in the wee hours at Khoirabari area where the Bodo militant...