Skip to content Skip to navigation

Durga puja ends in Kokrajhar

Along with other parts of the country, Kokrajhar observed  Bijaya Dashami of Durga Puja on Saturday by immersing the idols of the goddess of strength.

BTAD areas this time had 645 puja pendals beautiful decorated. Of these, Kokrajhar alone has 200 pandals in while Chirang haf 117 pendals apart from  120 in Baksa and 204 in Udalguri district.

Devotees bade a tearful farewell to the goddess on its Bijaya Dashami Day on Saturday at various Dashamighat arranged by district administration.

Many idols were immersed at Gaurang River,Hel River near Fakiragram, Longa River at Dotma and Sangkoch River in Kokrajhar district. Thousands of devotees and visitors thronged at the Dashamighat to see the Bijya Dashami in Kokrajhar.

“The Puja was celebrated with grand festive manner in the district.Strong security arrangement and healthy environment was seen during the celebration which made a happy Bijaya Dashami,said a senior official in Kokrajhar district administration.

'No any untoward incident wah reported in the district and Puja was peaceful with beautiful decorations', he added.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

N Biren Singh to take oath Wednesday

14 Mar 2017 - 11:53pm | AT News
Veteran politician and BJP leader N Biren Singh is taking oath as Manipur chief minister on Wednesday. Governor Dr Najma Heptulla will administer him the oath of office and secrecy at a ceremony at 1...

Arunachal Pradesh:Khandu announces 20 lakhs for diseased families

25 Feb 2019 - 8:32pm | AT News
ITANAGAR : The State Government has announced Ex-gratia of Rs 20 lakhs for diseased families with government job and Rs 10 lakhs for seriously injured person in the recent protest against government'...

Torch rally for Bodoland

14 Mar 2017 - 1:53am | Shajid Khan
Reiterating its movement for separate Bodoland state, activists of All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU), under the aegis of six regional committees viz. Dimakuchi, Khagrabari, Khoirabari, Bhergaon, Panery...