Skip to content Skip to navigation

ECI observer visits Udalguri

Puneet Agarwal, Election Observer (Expenditure) appointed by Election Commission of India (ECI) met top poll officials of Udalguri district on March 14. The Observer had a discussion with the Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC) and Media Cell of the district at 11 am at Udalguri Circuit House. On the occasion he stressed the need for holding free and fair Assembly Poll in the district so that citizens could exercise their constitutional right without the influence of money or false promises. He also directed Media Cell and MCMC officials to take tough actions against news or advertizement if not approved in advance. He specially asked the MCMC to monitor paid news. The Observer also directed poll officials to keep an eye on expenditure and cash amount being carried by indivisuals. Sadhana Hojai, DC cum DEO, Udalguri attended the meeting. Other poll officials namely-Dimple Barua, In-Charge, Media Cell; Ramanuj Hazarika, Convenor, MCMC; Chanda Singh, Asstt. In-Charge, Media Cell; Jayanta Kumar Das and Dilip Basumatari, Member MCMC; Simanta Talukdar and Bikash Sarma, Protocol Officer etc also had interaction with Election Observer

Author info

Jayanta Kumar Das's picture

Environmental journalist.

Add new comment

Random Stories

PVM seeks Constitutional safeguards for locals

12 Nov 2019 - 11:25am | AT News
We have submitted our proposal on implementation of legal and constitutional safeguards under clause 6 of the Assam Accord to the committee constituted in this regard Our submission is that the...

Rabha boys rescued python near Bhergaon

10 Jul 2009 - 9:41am | Jayanta Kumar Das
Wildlife lovers have expressed satisfaction, when four Rabha youths of the remote village Bodora near Khagrabari under Bhergaon police out post rescued an eight feet six inches long python weighing...

Insecured residents leave homes

12 Aug 2014 - 6:11pm | AT News
Hundreds of people from B sector in Dhansiri sub division in Golaghat district bordering Nagaland are leaving their homes fearing attack by the Naga miscreants who shot dead two local residents on...