Skip to content Skip to navigation

CM announces 13 parliamentary Secys

In a bid to reward the MLAs who left dissidents, chief minister Tarun Gogoi has announced 13 parliamentary secretaries who would take oath on September 16. Gogoi on Monday announced Habul Chakravorty, Rupjyoti Kurmi, Ghanashyam Kalita, Hemanta Talukdar, Kamalakhya Purkayastha, Sushanta Borgohain, Arun Phukan, Arati Kakati, Rumi Nath, SR Subba, Shivcharan Basumatary, Monica Bora and Jamaluddin Ahmed as new parliamentary secretaries.

Sources in the chief minister’s office said Gogoi is gearing up for a minor expansion of his council of ministers where two of his colleagues would be dropped and three would be inducted. Assam Times Political Research Bureau broke the story last week how Gogoi was preparing to quell the dissidence and to reward a section of dissident MLAs who decided to remain with the Congress.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Election Review meeting of central observer at Barpeta

9 Apr 2009 - 10:57am | Juthika Das
An election review meeting was held in the presence of the three appointed central observers here at the Deputy commissioner’s office yesterday. Loksabha election at No. 6 Barpeta Lok Sabha...

MP promises 50 lakhs aid

12 Jul 2016 - 9:05pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary has promised of 50 lakhs to the Bodoland University to meet infrastructural development in the university. Daimary while attending the 20th Foundation Day celebration...

Rotaract Club of Guwahati Midtown makes Guwahatians proud

20 Jan 2010 - 2:14pm | Mayank
Rotaract Club of Guwahati Midtown, which is under the sponsorship of Rotary Club of Gauhati South, won 8 prestigious awards in the Rotaract District Conference and Assembly which was held at Raniganj...