Skip to content Skip to navigation

AASU to move SC on NRC move

 The All Assam Students' Union will move the Supreme Court alleging Dispur’s move to include all electorates in the National Register of Citizens (NRC).

AASU leaders told Assam Times that the apex Court was monitoring the entire process to update the NRC and that Delhi and Dispur can’t do anything without its seal of approval. “Let Tarun Gogoi write to the top court,” said AASU leaders.

“We will move the court very soon against the move to update the NRC with illegal Bangladeshi migrants,” said the AASU leaders after the Chief Minister decided to write to the Centre about including in the updated NRC the names of all those who are registered in the latest (2014) voter list.


Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

NDFB-S ultra held

20 Mar 2016 - 11:06pm | Hantigiri Narzary

Security forces apprehend a NDFB(S) cadre from Basabil area under Gossaigaon PS on Sunday in Kokrajhar district. Based on information about the presence of the militant outfit cadres in the area, a joint team of police and army launched an operation where a listed cadre of Gossaigaon platoon of the NDFB(S) was arrested along with arms. He was identified as Sanjay Narzary of Borsabil village. A pistol, two round ammunition was recovered from him. 


India win 22 medals in Asian Powerlifting Championship

20 Jun 2010 - 3:01am | editor

Indian Powerlifters returned home with handful of medals from Asian Powerlifting Championship that concluded at Ullen Batter, Mangolia on May 7. India altogether collected 22 medals which included 9 golds, 8 silvers and 5 bronzes from the championship.

India sent 36 members team in the tournament and Assam based sports journalist Kula Pradip Bhagawati was also a part of the team as a media manger. Altogether 529 participants from 17 countries took part in the 7-day championship.

The name of the Indian powerlifters who won medal in the championship: Gold- Bhagyawati Devi (master-1, 67.5 kg), Sangita Singh (82.5 kg junior), Sangita Barik (82.5kg, open), Divya Devdas (90+ kg, sub junior), Sampa Guha (90+ kg, open), Nizam Ali (52kg, junior), P C Bidhika ( 60 kg, master-2), Jagdish Rathore (82.5 kg, master-3) and Jena Kartikeswar (75kg, master-2). Silver: Rama Lakshmi (56kg, junior), Tejaswini Naidu (56kg, open), K Swati (67.5kg junior), Santosh Kumar (56kg, junior), Ashoke Karmakar (67.5 kg, master-1), Sudeswar Rao Waghmare (82,5kg, master-2), Nitin Madhukar Kurelkar( 82.5 kg, master-1) and Bhupendra Vyas (75kg, master-1). Bronze: Susipra (52kg, sub junior), Mandakini Mahanta (52kg, open), Sushila Devi (56kg, open), Sanjoy Bilore( 60kg, open) and Satya Prakash (67.5 kg, master-2).

One electrocuted

24 Mar 2017 - 8:28pm | Shajid Khan

A power department employee Sujit Barman (40) working under Tangla sub-division APDCL at Hattigarh of Udalguri on contractual basis was electrocuted in Teliapara of Udalguri on Thursday. Reportedly the employee a resident of Ghagra of Udalguri was working atop an electric pole. A pall of gloom has surrounded Ghagra-Hattigorh area following the incident.