Skip to contentSkip to navigation

BTC polls: PCDR names 9 candidates

The Peoples Co-ordination for Democratic Rights(PCDR) on Tuesday announced nine candidates for the ensuing BTC election.

Chief convener of the umbrella organisation of various community and organisation  Rwngwra Narzary announced the candidatures after a brainstorming meeting in Kokrajhar.

The candidates include former senior ABSU leaders Jiran Basumatary from Jomduar, Somnath Narzary from Saraibil,Maoti Brahma Hazoary from Chirang,Rwngwra Narzary from Kajalgaon,Guneswar Goyary from Sobaijhar,Suresh Daimary from Manas Serfang,Leknath Guragain from Dihira,Pradip Kumar Daimary from Bhairabkunda and Birendra Daimary from Harisingha.

The second phase of the candidates would be declared on February 25. The party is confident that the common voters will vote them and formation of council will be in their hand.

Author info

Hantigiri Narzary's picture

Reporting from Kokrajhar

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Woman killed in elephant attack

1 Mar 2017 - 9:24pm | AT News
In yet another incident of man elephant conflict, wild elephants took the life of woman in the outskirt of Guwahati city on Wednesday.The incident took place in Rani area border Meghalaya where a...

5-day police remand for Amarjyoti

27 Jul 2012 - 2:51am | editor
Police on Thursday got remand of Amarjyoti Kalita when the prime accused in the infamous GS Road molestation case was produced before the Kamrup CJM court. Police sought Kalita in their remand for 5...

Rajkhowa, 6 others acquitted in Vijoy Majinder Baruah case

1 Apr 2012 - 4:49pm | editor
A TADA court in Guwahati on Saturday acquitted ULFA chairman Arabinda Rajkhowa and six others in a sensational shoot out in Sivasagar citing lack of evidence. Rajkhowa, along with vice chairman...