Skip to content Skip to navigation

Scrutiny of nominations in progress

Returning officers for Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Koliabor, Tezpur and Lakhimpur are examining the nomination papers on Saturday for the first phase of Lok Sabha polls slated for April 7.

These five returning officers are going through altogether 53 nomination papers filed by the candidate till Friday.

These include ten each in Tezpur and 13 in Kaliabor. Jorhat and Dibrugarh returning officers are scrutinizing 8 nomination papers each 14 in Lakhimpur.

Sunday is the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers for the first phase of polls.

Prominent among these candidates include Union Ministers Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh and Ranee Narah from Lakhimpur.

Controversial former Congress MP Mani Kumar Subba, BJP State unit president Sarbananda Sonowal from Lakhimpur, sitting AGP MP from Tezpur Joseph Toppo and former AGP MP Dr Arun Sarmah from Kaliabor. Apart from them, others include Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor, BK Handique from Jorhat former ULFA leader Jiten Gogoi and Congress MLA from Bihpuria Bhupen Kumar Borah.


Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Wage earner injured in Kokrajhar firing

24 Oct 2014 - 8:33pm | Hantigiri Narzary
Despite tight security gun running refuses to die down in Kokrajhar district. Unidentified miscreant shot at yet another person in the district on Friday. The incident took place at Baldiabatan where...

CM takes on Goala

12 Jan 2014 - 6:39pm | AT News
Chief minister Tarun Gogoi on Sunday dared Dinesh Prasad Goala to make public the copy of a resolution brought against him in the last special CLP meeting in Dispur.Gogoi made the open...

Central Assam bandh peaceful

12 Aug 2016 - 2:29pm | Sanjoy K Kakati
Normal life comes to a grinding halt in central Assam on Friday following a 12 hour bandh demanding the proposed AIIMS in Raha. Vehicles were off from the streets in Nagaon and  Morigaon...