Skip to content Skip to navigation

BJP-IPFT Alliance Wins Tripura Election 2023, Returns to Power

The BJP-IPFT alliance has emerged victorious in the Tripura Election 2023, securing a majority and returning to power for the second time. The alliance won 33 seats, crossing the majority mark, and Manik Saha, who won from Town Bardowali, will retain his position as the Chief Minister.

According to the Election Commission, the BJP won 32 seats with a vote share of around 39 percent. The Tipra Motha Party came second with 13 seats, followed by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) with 11 seats and the Congress with three seats.

In Sabroom, CPIM State president Jitendra Chaudhury of CPI(M) defeated Sankar Roy of the BJP by 396 votes. Central Minister Pratima Bhoumik also won from Dhanpur, beating the CPI(M) candidate Kaushik Chanda by 3500 votes. In Agartala, INC's Sudip Roy Barman beat BJP's Papia Dutta by 8162 votes to win the seat.

In Khayerpur, BJP's Ratan Chakraborty won and beat CPI(M)'s Pabitra Kar by 4110 votes. Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the BJP-IPFT alliance on their victory and tweeted, "The double engine government will keep working for the state's progress. I laud our party workers for their hard work, which ensured this result."

Author info

Prasenjit Saha's picture

Agartala, Tripura

Add new comment

Random Stories

Career counselling workshop at Jamugurihat

15 Mar 2016 - 3:31pm | AT News
Sankardev Sishu Niketan of Jamugurihat had organsied a career planning workshop its students on 14th march. The objective of the workshop was to provide information on various career options and...

Say no to opium consumption

18 Sep 2015 - 8:55pm | AT News
Lohit Deputy Commissioner Tamiyo Tatak has directed all the heads of the departments to bring to name the government servants involved in opium consumption and its illegal trading.In a recent...

Theft at Ganesh temple in Dispur

14 Jun 2012 - 6:26pm | editor
Heavy presence of security forces seems to have proved a futile effort to ensure safety and security of the people. Valuable properties worth Rs 5 lakh was looted from the Ganesh temple by thieves...

Join Assam Times on Telegram