Skip to content Skip to navigation

JFA insists on continuation of Parag Das award

Journalists’ Forum Assam [JFA] insists on continuation of Journalist Parag Kumar Das Memorial Award and urges the Sadin-Pratidin Media Group to take necessary initiatives in this regard.

The forum apprehends that the annual award will be discontinued as Janasadharan, an Assamese daily newspaper that initiated the Journalist Parag Kumar Das Memorial Award, had closed down its publication last year.

As Late Parag Kumar Das devoted most of his time, energy and space for the Sadin-Pratidin group and even faced miscreant’s bullets while working as one of the highest policy makers of the media house, the management of Sadin-Pratidin Media group should take the lead to continue the award from this year itself,” said a statement issued by JFA president Rupam Barua and secretary Nava Thakuria.

The forum cited that the slain journalist was born on 24 February 1961 and died on 17 May 1996. And hence the Parag Kumar Das memorial award to honour a scribe preferably for investigative journalism may be offered with the convenience of the dynamic media house, concluded the JFA statement.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff.

Add new comment

Random Stories

KPLT asked to release 2 Naga workers

21 Jun 2012 - 2:08pm | editor
A number of Naga organizations have asked KPLT for to release two Naga workers who were taken hostage along with several others from Karbi Anglong district on June 10. In a statement, the Naga...

Photo I-card before polls

23 Feb 2014 - 3:09pm | AT News
The Election Commission is fully prepared to ensure free and fair Lok Sabha polls in Assam along with other parts of the country.The country’s poll panel is all set to issue voters photo identity...

No trace of kidnapped engineer

30 Jul 2014 - 8:52am | AT News
 Security forces are fanning in Dima Hasao district in search of Niran Kumar Mahajan a day after a group of unidentified miscreants kidnapped the construction company manager on Tuesday. There...