Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Cong, LDP target Governor Rajkhowa

BJP received a severe jolt when the Supreme Court on Wednesday ordered immediate restoration of the Nabam Tuki Government in Arunachal Pradesh a couple of months after he was dislodged by Kalikho Pul with the help of BJP. Now many political parties and individuals have asked Governor JP Rajkhowa to quit the job.

Congress veteran and former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi welcomed the SC ruling while state Congress interim president Ripun Bora demanded the immediate resignation of Governor JP Rajkhowa for his misleading role.

In his facebook post Liberal Democratic Party leader Prodyut Bora said, “the Supreme Court has ended the machinations of the Modi government and Governor JP Rajkhowa, and restored the Nabam Tuki government in Arunachal Pradesh. I feel Governor Rajkhowa should resign on moral grounds.”

In his historic ruling, the five-judge Constitution bench said, "the Governor must remain aloof from any disagreement, discord, disharmony, discontent or dissension, within individual political parties." Rajkhowa, the former Assam Chief Secretary is on leave where Tripura Governor T Roy has been holding the charge.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment


Republish this content

Random Stories

Mech-Kachari festival 2013

Mech-Kachari Cultural festival

20 Jan 2013 - 10:47pm | SK Hasan
The 3-day-Mech Kachari Cultural festivel which was began on January 18 at Harmoney Ground of Haripora Koch Gaon, near Nazira ends on Sunday. The festival featured folk dance, musib, culture and...

Seminar on green technologies

19 Jun 2015 - 3:47pm | AT News
Federation of Industry and Commerce of the North Eastern Region (FINER) in association with Indian Institute of Entrepreneurship (IIE) is organizing a seminar on “Beyond the economic value of Green...

Assam Valley Literary award to Rong Bong Terang

1 Jan 2009 - 2:40pm | editor
Eminent litterateur Rong Bong Terang has been selected for the prestigious Assam Valley Literary Award instituted by the Williamson Magor Education Trust for the year 2008. The newly elected Asom...