Skip to content Skip to navigation

BPF clean sweeps in BTAD

Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF), an alloy of BJP-AGP has made landslide victory with winning 12 constituencies in BTAD region that result was declared on Thursday. The BPF party contested in 13 seats, of which won 12 seats scoring huge margins in several constituencies that pave to be part of the BJP led alliance government on Dispur. Meanwhile, the United Peoples Party (UPP),Congress and AIUDF draw blank in the election, all though they contested in several seats in the region. 

BPF winning candidates included Rihan Daimary (Udalguri), Charan Boro (Mazbat), Kamali Basumatary (Panery), Maheswar Boro (Kalaigaon), Emanuel Mushahary (Tamulpur), Maneswar Brahma (Barama), Taneswar Basumatary (Chapaguri), Kamalsing Narzary (Bijni), Chandan Brahma (Sidli), Pramila Rani Brahma (Kokrajhar east), Rabiram Narzary (Kokrajhar west) and Majendra Narzary (Gossaigaon).

Senior BPF leader Pramila Rani Brahma, who has elected for six consecutive from Kokrajhar east said that her party made champion in the region with winning in all contesting seats, except Gauripur LAC. We would be part of the alliance government to be formed at Dispur to meet make healthy development and social unit among all sections of the community. She has, thanked all voters and citizens who voted in favor of her candidature I'm the last election.

'I will stress more development and social uplift among society so that social integration and unity could be gaited in day's to coming', Brahma said. 

Rabiram Narzary won Kokrajhar west LAC defeating Dahit Chandra Brahma, AIUDF. Narzary, who was elected on BPF ticket, thanked to all voter and citizens of the constituency said that it is a joy of peoples. He extended his thank to the party leaders for giving him opportunity to contest the election from the constituency. 

'I will dedicate for the welfare social uplift in the constituency', Rabiram Narzary said. 

UPP president and party candidate for Kokrajhar west Urkhao Gwra Brahma was lost to BPF candidate Rabiram Narzary, Rwngwra Narzary, UPP candidate was defeated in Sidli, sitting MLA and UPP candidate for Chapaguri LAC lost to BPF candidate Taneswar Basumatary, sitting AGP MLA for Kalaigaon LAC Mukundo Choudhury lost to BPF candidate Moheswar Boro.
Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Spotlight on Bordua

23 Sep 2015 - 12:17pm | AT News
Bardowa, the name of a place of historic wonder is throbbing with the activities of a full fledged Vashnavite nerve centre on Wednesday as the entire state soaks in the traditional fervour of the...

Kidnapped trader rescued

24 Feb 2017 - 9:47pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
Aynal Haque, a trader of Tulsijhar under Amguri PS of Chirang district was rescued from Nayahat of Dhubri district on Friday morning. According to police, Haque was kidnapped by miscreants on...

Secret killing: Mahanta to approach the Court

17 Nov 2007 - 2:50pm | pbaruah
Former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta will rush to the court as the Assam Government gets ready for legal action against him along with those indicted by the K N Saikia Commission in the extra...