Skip to content Skip to navigation

Curtain Call drama competition draws 10 troupes

An inter-college drama competition drew 10 drama troupes from different parts of Assam. The dramatics club of School of Technology, Assam Don Bosco University (ADBU) organized the 4th annual Inter-College Drama Competition ‘CURTAIN CALL-2016’ on March 13. 

The Rangayan Club’s programme started with the inauguration of the event by the Chief Guest popular Assamese actor  Utpal Das along with the Director of School of Technology, ADBU- Dr. Manoranjan Kalita, Fr. Francis Fernandez- Director, Centre for Online and Distance Education & Controller of Examinations, ADBU; and the Judges of the competition-  Amulya Kumar and  Sukumar Benarji. It was followed by floral tributes paid to Srimanta Shankardev, Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agrawala, Kalaguru Bishnu Prasad Rabha and Dr. Bhupen Hazarika, by all the presented dignitaries.

 Renowned Television Producer- Anchor (“Bidexot Apun Manuh“) and socio-cultural worker  Bobbeeta Sharma who is Chairwoman of Indian Women Network (CII), Chairperson of Assam State Film Finance Development Corporation Limited and also Executive Member of Dr Phani Sharma Welfare Trust,  was the guest of honor for the event. Among other guests, eminent personalities like Music Composer  Ibson Lal Baruah and NSUI State Vice President  Abhisekh Boro also graced the occasion with their august presence. 

Ten colleges from different parts of Assam participated in the competition. Among all the participating teams, the team of  Cotton College State University  won the coveted ‘best play’ award for the play titled “Aur Ek Sakuntala” with cash prize of Rs. 12,000/-, certificate and trophy followed by Cotton College with the First runners-up cash award of Rs. 10,000/- , certificate and trophy for their play titled “Kareng Bepir Hahi” while P.C.P.S. Girls’ Polytechnic College bagged the Second runners-up cash award of Rs. 8,000/-, certificate and trophy for their play titled “Ekhan Mukh Ejaak Manuh”.

The other awards were as follows- Best director –  Nishiranjan K. Mallika (“Aur Ek Sakuntala”-Cotton College State University); Best Actor (Male) – Pranab Bharali, Tihu College; Best Actor (Female) –  Maitreyee Baruah, Cotton College State University;  and Judges' Special Award – Juri Kashyap (Cotton College) &  Jyotisikha Kalita (Tihu College)

The programme ended with the formal prize distribution and a vote of thanks by the President of Curtain Call 2016- Prabal Barman.

Author info

CM Paul's picture

Former HoD, Dept of Mass Communications at Assam Don Bosco University, Guwahati, C.M. Paul was editor of The Herald weekly in Kolkata and director of Don Bosco International News Agency (ANS) based in Rome. He has MA degree in Journalism & Mass Communication from FORDHAM University, New York.

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

Tearful farewell to lifeless Hiren Bhatta

5 Jul 2012 - 6:22pm | editor
People thronged in thousands at the Navagraha cremation ground on Thursday morning to get the last glimpse of famed poet Hiren Bhatta who breathed his last on Wednesday. His body was taken away from...

Bihali on the boil

5 Jun 2015 - 11:05am | AT News
Simmering tension s back to Bihali along the Assam-Arunachal Pradesh border in Sonitpur district after suspected miscreants from Arunachal Pradesh killed a local resident forcing people I large...

Dewkon trophy football begins

Winning team from Golaghat (match 16) beat Jorhat by 1 goal
22 Jul 2016 - 4:09pm | Gunamoni Sarmah
The Dewkon Trophy Inter-District school football tournament 2016-17 kicked off at Guwahati from Friday. 10 matches were played on the first day. On the second day, 8 matches were played. The matches...

, ,