Skip to content Skip to navigation

Thaosen, 6 others to join BJP!

In yet another major change in the pre poll political landscape in Dima Hasao district, several Congress leaders are believed to have been preparing to join BJP. The date of joining has yet to be decided. Even after Thaosen quit the post, BJP has not formed it only because of the deal. They include Debojeet Thaosen, Kulendra Daulagupu, Denis Teron, Laljoshua Baite, Devojit Bathari, Samuel Changsan and Tushar Kanti Deb who have agreed to join BJP if they are allowed to remain in power.

The sudden development took place a few days after the Debojeet Thaosen resigned after the Congress-led council was reduced to minority when 2 members joined BJP apart from three independents.  


Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff


Suonmang Changsan's picture

Such folly & greedy act on the part of congress influence people to enter BJP is unwelcomed. These people have completely eaten up all developmental funds. I myself have supported Mr.Samuel Changsan but after seeing his double face I have ceased to follow his footsteps. They should be barred from this district altogether

Add new comment


Republish this content

3 killed in bus-tanker collision

30 Oct 2013 - 9:25am | AT News

Three persons were killed and atleast 20 others have been injured when a passenger bus collided its head on a tanker in Nagaon district. The incident took place on the National Highway 37 in Roha at 2 am, where a Guwahati bound passenger bus from Tinsukia collided head on a standred tanker.             The of the passengers died on the spot while the injured have been rushed to the hospital.

NSCN-K rebel hurt in Nagaland shoot out

14 Aug 2019 - 9:35am | AT News

Kohima: A few rebels are believed to have been hurt as they were locked in a heavy exchange of firing in Nagaland on Wednesday.

The incident took place in Tobu area in Mon district where both side had a fierce encounter from Tuesday.  According to sources, the Armed rebels suddenly sprang on a group of Assam Rifles on a patrolling duty in the evening amid stepped up security to ensure a peaceful I-Day celebrations in the state on Wednesday.

The rebel outfit in search of a greater Nagalim has yet to issue any statement.

The para military forces have also not divulged anything in detail.

Sonia rushes team to visit Udalguri, Darrang

11 Oct 2008 - 4:28pm | editor
Congress president Sonia Gandhi has rushed a three member team to the violence-hit Udalguri and Darrang distircts where 62 people were killed, over 200 injured and hundreds of houses have been set on fire.

According to information, the three member committee headed by former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Mukut Mithi, Shaqeel Ahmed and Malda MP AH Khan is visiting the riot hit areas and its relief camps. The team is expected to submit its report before Gandhi by October 15.

On the other hand, Army's western Assam zone general officer command of 4 Corps Lt general V K Singh is also visiting these areas on Saturday to take stock of the situation. This will be followed the visit of Union minister of state for home on Sunday.