Skip to content Skip to navigation

Six nominated members in BTAD

BPF ruled BTC administration has announced nominated six members to the BTC Legislative Assembly after few days taking oath of office and secrecy for third consecutive terms on Tuesday after a threadbare sitting of the council and party office bearers in Guwahati. 

According to sources, the members are nominated from various communitites which were not represented in the eldction which comprises of four women and two men which included Puleswary Devi (Salakati), Purnima Chetry( Chirang), Amal Prabha Shutradhar(Bijni), Triven Sangma (Parbatjhora),Sabita Rubi Das (Bijni) and Gitima Das (Gossaigaon).

The names of six nominated members have been sent to governor's office for node of approval, the source added

In the recent concluded could council election, BPF party won 20 seats and managed to form council on support of independent candidate from Goreswar constituency of Baksa district. The PCDR won 7, AIUDF 4, BJP 1 and 8 others won. 

Mentioned be made that this time council have 19 members in opposition bench. 

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff.

Add new comment

Random Stories

108 houses destroyed by elephant in 2015

21 Jan 2016 - 8:07am | Shajid Khan
The man-elephant conflict has taken worst turn in Indo-Bhutan area of Udalguri district. The Bornadi Wildlife Sanctuary, Khalingduar forest and Nonai Reserve forest has been deforested by cutting of...

Huge rally warns govt, immigrants

8 Mar 2017 - 4:01pm | AT News
A huge protest rally in Dhemaji has asked the government to immediately nab Soobodh Biswas, the main culprit behind the clash in Silapithar where some persons of doubtful integrity attached a local...

UPSC, APSC orientation programme in Kokrajhar

12 Jul 2017 - 7:47pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
The All Bodo Students Union(ABSU) organizes an orientation programme on how to crack civil services examinations (UPSC/APSC) for IAS, IPS, ACS, APS etc. The programme was held at Science College...