Skip to content Skip to navigation

28 MACs took oath of office at Haflong

The Deputy Commissioner, Dima Hasao District Barun Bhuiyan administered the Oath of Office ceremonially to the newly elected members of the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council election -2013, in presence of MP Biren Sing Engti, Power Minister, Sri Pradyut Bordoloi, HAD Minister Sri Khorsing Engti, MLA G C Langthasa and MLA Klendon Engti in the District Library Auditorium on Monday.

Al together 28 members elected from 28 constituencies in recently concluded election the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council election -2013 took the oath of office in English except Debolal Gorlosa who read out few line in Dimasa.

Former Chief Executive Member Sri Debojeet Thaosen while expressing confidence to form the government with the majority said ‘a good opposition means a good administration’.

Talking to the media Sri Power Minister, Sri Pradyut Bordoloi said the congress was having required numbers of MACs to form the government but supports from others also required to run the government as well as for the development. He also said the district of Dima Hasao and Karbi Anglong were suffering a lot due to some unwanted happenings but now all have taken part in the democracy and hoped that this time people of Dima Hasao would be able to see the light of development. He further said the former rebel leaders have also joined in the process of democracy; therefore, their support also would be required for the development of the district as well as the people. He further said the Assam Government is having keen interest to extend support to the Dima Hasao Autonomous council so that the people of Dima Hasao could get the taste of every development. He disclosed that today a meeting among the congress parliamentary members and like minded members would hold in the evening to choose their Chairman, since the election for the chairman would hold on June 5th next.

It is to be mentioned here that the election to the 11th N C Hills Autonomous Council was held on May 20th and results of the election were declared on May 24th and 25th. The congress emerged as the largest party with 10 members, 18 seats were bagged by independent supported by DHD, DHD (J), IPP and others. But with the joining of the several independent Members the congress is forming the government in 11th N C Hills Autonomous Council .

Add new comment

Random Stories

Dispur asks for vaccination report

31 Mar 2015 - 12:11pm | AT News
Dispur on Monday has asked the Darrang Deputy Commissioner to file a detailed report on the incident where nearly a dozen students were taken ill after they were administered JE vaccination on Monday...

Flood fury critical in Morigaon

19 Aug 2014 - 6:03pm | AT News
The flood situation in Nagaon and Morigaon turns critical on Tuesday. Over 150 villages have come under the surging waters of the Brahmaputra affecting around one lakh people. The water submerged...

Ferruginous ducks in Pobitora. Pix: Chandan Duarah

Of Rare Birds and Vanishing Wetlands

2 Feb 2017 - 9:27am | Mubina Akhtar
The Northeast forms a complex geomorphology with vast flood plains, valleys, hills and ridges of varying elevations, beels (wetlands) and swamp areas with presence of large number of avifaunal...