Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dima Hasao election: 1st Poll party left Haflong

Dima Hasao election 2013

Though there have been reports of road block in few areas due to yesterday’s incessant rain, but the polling officials are seemed to be very enthusiastic in regards to the election to the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council slated to be held on May 20.

The polling officials were seen gathering in front of the office of the Deputy Commissioner, Dima Hasao right from 6 am of Friday. They are to collect there appointment letters as well as the election materials like ballot paper, ballot box etc from their assigned counters. Polling officials including security personals for as many as 89 polling stations have left Haflong on Friday for their assigned destination with great enthusiasm.

There are 28 constituencies of the North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council and some of the constituencies like Jinam, Borail, Kharthong, Laisong, Hangrum, Dihamlai etc.are located at remote areas of the district. Therefore the election officials are being sent to these places 3 days ahead of the polling date.

It is to be mentioned here that the election to the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council is going to be historic and unprecedented one since all the people from various communities are involved in the election and the election to the 11th North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council is the best desire of the people of the Dima Hasao district.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Explosion in Raas-Leela: 8 injured

5 Dec 2012 - 4:46pm | editor
At least eight persons sustained injury when a powerful IED exploded blast in Udalgiri district on Tuesday. The explosion took place at a 'Raas-leela' pandal at around 8 in the evening. The four...

Entrepreneurs Aawareness Programme at Rangaloo, Nagaon

21 Feb 2011 - 9:54pm | editor
An Entrepreneurs Awareness Programme was organized by Gram Vikas Parishad on February 19 at Rangaloo with the financial assistance from Khadi...

Nominations filed for Nagaon Civic polls

17 Jul 2009 - 11:08am | Dibya J Borthakur
Altogether 314 candidates filed their nomination papers for the Nagaon Municipality Board elections as well as Town Committee seats at Dhing, Kampur, Raha, Lanka, Hojai, Dabaka and Lumding...