Skip to content Skip to navigation

Congress facing stiff challenge at Raha

With Assembly election knocking at the door candidates of the different political parties have geared up with their traditional promises in Raha to attract the common voters as well as to bag the constituency into their pocket. At the same time , the candidates have also started firing salvos against each other.

Traditionally,Raha LAC is a stronghold of the AGP. But in 2001 this LAC elected a congress candidate and in 2006 this LAC elected Gunewar Das of AIUDF breaking its glorious tradition.

In the ensuing election, six candidates are in fray from this constituency. They are, the sitting AIUDF MLA Guneswar Das, AGP candidate Umesh Chandra Das , Piyush Hazarika of INC , BJP candidate Surya Kr. Das, CPI candidate Thuleswar Das and All India Trinamool Congress candidate Dilip Das. There is no independent candidate in the fray from this constituency.

Though every candidate is trying hard to draw the attention of the common voters but the straight fight will be there among the candidates of the Congress, AIUDF,AGP and the BJP.

The congress candidate,Piyush Hazarika, an ex-president of the Assam Pradesh Youth Congress (APYC) , is leaving no stone unturned to win the constituency even though he is facing stiff challenge from AIUDF , AGP and BJP candidates. If he is able to draw the minority voters towards him efficiently then there will be a hope for him to win this constituency.

Usually,it is seen , ‘Garubaat Mouza’ , a minority dominated segment of Raha LAC plays a vital role in deciding the fate of candidates win from this constituency. Since the first general election held in India , the voters of this segments have always been supporting Indian National Congress candidates for this LAC. But after the formation of AIUDF party , the voters of this locality wholeheartedly joined in AIUDF considering the said party of their own as a result of which the sitting MLA of this LAC Guneswar Das was able to win this seat in 2006 election. Still, the voters of this segment are seen not divided and have strong support for the AIUDF candidate. This is why it may not be possible for the congress candidate to have a full support from the voters of this segment instead of which wind may blow in favour of the AIUDF candiadate Guneswar Das.

On the other hand , the AGP candidate Umesh Das is expecting the general voters of Raha in his favour. He is also toiling hard to bring back the former glory of the AGP of this constituency and keeps a high hope to win this LAC.

The BJP candidate Surya Kr Das is also in the straight fight with Congress, AIUDF and AGP candidates. His strength is increasing also in the remote corners of the LAC for his good behaviour . He has also been holding a good relationship from the oldest to the youngest of the constituency for a long time. His positive point is that he was a private tutor for a long time at Raha and served the students belonged to the poor class free of cost.

Among others,the AITC has given its candidature to Dilip Das and CPI to Thuleswar Das. Both the candidates have also started up their political activities among the voters of 82 no. Raha constituency.

Author info

Dibya J Borthakur's picture

Roha, Nagaon

Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

J B Patnaik new Assam governor

22 Nov 2009 - 1:14am | editor
Veteran Orissa political leader Janki Ballab Patnaik has been appointed new Assam governor. This was what sources told from the Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi. Patnaik will replace Syed Sibtey Razi who...

Camera traps help nab rhino poachers

23 Jul 2015 - 7:54pm | Syed Miraz Ahmed
Camera traps installed in the Rajiv Gandhi Orang National Park in Mangaldoi in Assam helped convict two poachers for illegal entry into the park with arms and killing rhinos. The Mangaldoi Session...

Natun Dainik and CP Saikia memorial meet

3 Aug 2014 - 6:25pm | Nava Thakuria
The employees of Natun Dainik, an influential Assamese daily newspaper of yesteryears, will remember its founder editor Chandra Prasad Saikia (popularly known as CPS) on August 8 in Guwahati Press...