Skip to content Skip to navigation

Sonowal expanding team

GUWAHATI: At least eight BJP, AGP and BPF legislators are taking oath as new colleagues in the Sarbananda Sonowal’s council of ministers on Thursday.

From BJP Siddharth Bhattacharjee, Piyush Hazarika, Tapan Kumar Gogoi, Angorlata Deka, Bhabesh Kalita, Sumung Ronghang are taking oath at a function in the Raj Bhawan.

Governor Dr Jagdish Mukhi is administering the new inductees the oath of office and secrecy. AGP legislator Phani Bhushan Chaudhury and his BPF counterpart Chandan Brahma are also taking oath in the ceremony.

For the first time the year old Sonowal team is expanding. The strong contenders who were left this time include Prasanta Phukan, Padma Hazarika and Atul Bora.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff.

Add new comment

Random Stories

Bongaigaon XI Star beat Municipality FC

8 Oct 2015 - 3:00pm | Hantigiri Narzary
Bongaigaon XI Star Club beat Coochbehar Municipality FC,West Bengal 3-1 in Thursday’s match of Daoharu Mungklong Trophy being played at Dotma DASA ground in Kokrajhar. A Adindu of Coochbehar...

Golaghat stands for Anna Hazare

9 Apr 2011 - 2:13pm | Ritupallab Saikia
The citizens of Golaghat town today extends their support to the ongoing hunger strike by the noted Gandhian leader Anna Hazare for the enactment of Jan Lokpal Bill. They gathered at Bata Point in...

Veteran journalist Anil Mazumdar shot dead

25 Mar 2009 - 1:27pm | editor
In a gruesome incident that sends shockwave across the state's media fraternity, some unidentified miscreants gunned down veteran journalist and Executive Editor of Aji, Anil Mazumdar in front of his...