Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rongjali Bwisagu in Kokrajhar

Kokrajhar:  The Rongjali Bwisagu celebration is going on with pomp and festive fervor in Kokrajhar as the Bohag month is today entered 8th day on Sunday. 

Priya Brahma of Bishmuri in Kokrajhar has been crowned Bwisagi Khungri in the Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw organised in Kokrajhar.

Tinu Basumatary and Jeni Narzary of Kokrajhar town adjusted first and second runners up in the Bwisagi Khungri Pwrbw respectively.

Bwisagi Khungri Priya was awarded a gorden crown and cash Rs. 10,000 while first runners up was awarded cah Rs. 8000 and second runners up Rs. 5000 respectively.

The Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw was concluded today with two programme scheduled at Science College auditorium in Kokrajhar.

The Kokrajhar Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw celebration committee organised the Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw at Bhatarmari village and UN Academy,Kokrajhar organised Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw with daylong programme. Huge peoples from all walks of life participated the Bwisagu pwrbw celebrations wira traditional music instruments like Kham, Shifung, Jota etc thai created amusement.A cultural ralat was aksi carried out in Kokrajhar to mark the Bwisagu celebration followed sappling plantations at Bhatarmari LP school in Kokrajhar.

The School Management Committee of UN Academy Kokrajhar organised Rongjali Bwisagu Pwrbw with great enthusiastic environment. Student, teacher and guardians took part in the Bwisagu celebration.

Assam forest minister Pramila Rani Brahma attended teh occasion as chief guest anda handed obat the Bwisagi Khungri award.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

All round development of Nagaon Railway Station demanded by citizens

23 Aug 2010 - 11:42pm | DigantaTalukdar

In a memorandum to the General Manager, N.F.Railway, Maligaon, the citizens and the passengers of Nagaon demanded for all round development including infrastructure development of the Nagaon Railway Station. In the 11 points long memorandum, the citizens demanded immediate arrangement for a shuttle train from Silghat to Chaparmukh, considering the heavy load of passengers. The shuttle train should be named as KALIABAR PASSENGER The 2067 UP Janasatabdi Express train should be linked with 808 Silghat to Guwahati down train at Chaparmuk junction. The passengers also demanded two additional trains from Silghat to Guwahati and Guwahati to Silghat with the names, SREEMANTA SANKAR DEV passenger and Kaziranga passenger respectively..

Moreover the Chaparmukh to Silghat railway line should be extended up to Tezpur Rangapara (North) from which the passengers of both Assam and Arunachal Pradesh will be benefited. The one more line should be extended from Jakhalabandha to Sibsagar town via Numoligarh,Dergaon and Jorhat town for which the passengers of Upper Assam will be benefited as mentioned in their demand. Priority should be given to make the Nagaon railway station in the category of Model Railway Station with immediate renovation of the platform as per B.G.norms. It is to mention that the present platform of the station is not constructed properly for which ladies or handicapped passengers face difficulties to get in the train.

Beside all, the citizens also demanded for immediate steps to against the illegal constructions of business centers and small huts on the railway properties. People belonging to different categories have been occupying about 90% of landed property of N.F.Railway. It is always noticed that some anti-social activities are going on in such temporary huts, as a result, it has been spoiling the entire environment of the surrounding areas. The UTS and PRS system should be introduced in the Nagaon Railway Station and the Puranigudam, Samaguri, Salana, Jakhalabadha ,Bebjia, Phulaguri and Raha stations should be improved into three lines with proper signal system, as demanded.

All Assam Mamoni Bora and Dulu Hazarika memorial badminton Competition ends

29 Jan 2012 - 1:54am | Anup Arandhara

The All Assam Mamoni Bora and Dulu Hazarika memorial invitation day-night prize money badminton competition held at Gaurisagar on January 27 concluded. The winners of this competition are, Rajib Barua in Men’s open single, Sangram Chetia in under 15 boys, Abhijit Dutta and Mausom Gohain in mens open doubles, Abhijit Mitra and Jyan ranjan Bora in veteran men’s doubles respectively.

BTC Principal Secretary visits eroded sites

3 Aug 2016 - 7:12pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau

BTC Principal Secretary Biren Chandra Phukan on Wednesday visited erosion-hit areas of Aie River at Choto Nilibari and Debargaon to take stock of the post-flood situation of Chirang district.

He inspected the protection works being done by the Water Resources department with porcupines and bouldering. In this regard, he immediately instructed the CHD of the Water Resources department to constantly monitor the works so as to finish the work proper and timely. Later, he also visited the relief camps set up at Subhaijhar relief camp where more than 40 families are taking shelter. He also interacted with the flood affected camp inmates on various issues like relief operations, health and sanitation facilities, drinking water, medical facilities etc.

While interacting with inmates he came to know that the school going students living in the relief camps are not able to take classes as there is no facility for it. In this regard, he talked with the BTC Director of Education and instructed him to immediately arrange classes for those students in the camp premises itself. It is to be mentioned that the BTC Principal Secretary was out of station during flood situation as he was in one month official training.