Skip to content Skip to navigation

NRC draft by July 31, 2018

Once again the NRC draft is set to miss the deadline. The home ministry on Thursday moved a special leave petition before the Supreme Court asking for permission to extent the deadline by July 31,2018. 

The state nodal officer recently submitted a status report before the apex court disclosing that over 1 crore documents have yet to be verified. The court earlier fixed December 31,2017 as the deadline to publish the draft.

Author info

AT New Delhi's picture

Add new comment


Republish this content

Homage paid to freedom fighter Pani Ram Das at Kalaigaon

22 Nov 2011 - 3:02pm | editor

On the occasion of first death anniversary of eminent freedom fighter and social worker of the state Pani Ram Das, people paid hearty tribute to him at his residence at Kalaigaon Sevashram on November 20. On the occasion several distinguished people of the state paid floral tribute to the departed freedom fighter,who breathed his last in November 2011 at the age of 94 years. Basanta Das,Minister of State,(Ind),Fisheries and Janasanyog,Assam; Kumud Kalita,DC,Darrang;Thaneswar Malakar,DC,Udalguri; Lt.Col.Shesh Giri of 2 Field Regiment (Red Horns Division),;noted writer Dr.Amarendra Narayan Deb; members of Tangla Press Club;Kalaigaon Pres Club; Kalaigaon Press Guild;Media Circle,Mangaldai etc attended the first death anniversary to pay homage to the departed leader,known as a 'General in Khadi', arranged at Kalaigaon Sevashram.

Freedom fighter Pani Ram Das,who had passed matriculation examination from Calcutta University in 1937 securing first division with letter marks in English, decided to join freedom movement instead of joining colleges for higher education. He spent several years terms in British prison at Mangaldai, Tezpur, Jorhat and Nowgong etc. After independence he turned down the request to become an MLA and decided to do public service living in villages. He established Kalaigaon Sevashram in 1950 and was doing social service there till his death last year. He also the first journalist from Mangaldai working as the correspondents of 'The Assam Tribune' and 'Natun Asomiya'.Just before his death,he donated 56 bighas of his land at Kalaigaon for public work which included the 'Kanaklata Das Bio-Diversity Conservation Park' with an area of 35 bigha land.

Flutter in AGP: Goswami walks out of general body meet

22 Sep 2008 - 2:41am | editor
In a high voltage political drama, the Opposition Asom Gana Parishad has replaced president Brindabon Goswami with general secretary Chandra Mohan Patowary. The sudden and strange development came up after the sitting president Brindabon Goswami walked out of the stormy general body meeting organized at the Udeshna Cinema hall premises on Sunday. On the other hand, the central executive body has been dissolved minutes after two top guns Dr Arun Sarma and Sarbananda Sonowal resigned as vice presidents. Before that the party’s general body meeting cleared the decks for unification of the regional forces at a verbal vote.

The Asom Gana Parishad was born in 1985.

On that year, the party managed to get 61 seat in the assembly polls paving the way for occupying Dispur with the help a few independent legislators. In 1991, the regional party was divided and the breakaway group was named as the Natun Asom Gana Parishad. The new party was led by the main architects of the Assam Agitation Bhrigu Kumar Phukan, Pulakesh Baruah, Brindabon Goswami, Dinesh Goswami et al. And the result came in the form of the defeat in thw 1991 Assembly polls. Stunned by the poll debacle, the united form the first time and agains came to power in 1996. The regional party formed the government with Mahanta again as the Chief Minister but with the help of UMF and the Left parties. Atul Bora and Pulakesh Baruah who were unhappy with this course of action floated the Trinamool Gana Parishad. Instead of merging with TGP, the regional party forged poll pact with the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2001 lost to Congress. Mahanta resigned from the party presidentship and the onus of responsibility was left to Brindabon Goswami and thus the party was riddled with internal bickering. There was two camps of Mahanta and Goswami withnin the party. Mahanta was expelled from the party. A stunned Mahanta backed by his henchmen Gunin hazarika, Bubukl Das, Sahidul Alom Chaudhury, Utpal floated Asom Gana parishad-Pragatisheel in 2005. But fail to yield good results in the asebly polls in 2006. AGP got 24 seats while its breakaway group had to remain satisfied with one seat. Birth of AGP 1985 on October 14. The party came to power in 1985 NAGP formed in 1991 and the leaders were Bhrigu Kumar Phukan, Brindabon Goswami, Dinesh Goswami and Pulakesh Baruah. AGP and NAGP reunited in 1995. TGP was floated in 1999 and the leaders were Atul Bora, Pulakesh Baruah and Krishna Gopal Bhattacharya. AGP(P) was formed in 2005 and the leaders were prafulla Kumar Mahanta, Gunin Hazarika, Saidul Alam Chaudhury, Bubul Das and Utpal Dutta.

Tuki meets Gadkari in New Delhi

24 Sep 2015 - 7:45am | AT News

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki met Union road transport minister Nitin Gadkari at New Delhi on Wednesday seeking funds for maintenance of the damages of roads in the north eastern state during this monsoon.
The Chief Minister said that the estimates for damages will be submitted to the ministry of road transport & highways  for further consideration. Gadkari assured him of fund for maintenance of the roads and bridges. They also discussed several other issues related to the roads sector in the State.