Skip to contentSkip to navigation

AGP forges poll pact with BJP, happy with 20 seats

Finally, AGP inks poll pact with BJP where the regional party remained satisfied with 20 seats to contest in the upcoming assembly polls.

In eight assembly seats both the parties will be in the friendly contest.

The entire deal was finalised when an AGP delegation held a crucial round of talks with state BJP president Sarbananda Sonowal along with Himanta Biswa Sarma, Ram Madhab, Mahendra Singh.

The AGP delegation comprising former Chief Minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, Atul Bora, Pradeep Hazarika, Birendra Prasad Baishya and Ramedra Narayan Kalita, finally remained satisfied with 20 seats apart from friendly contest in 8 seats.

AGP will contest in Amguri, West Guwahati, Tezpur, Biswanath Chariali, Dergaon, Kaliagaon, Naharkatiya, Rongapara, Barhampur, Hajo, Lakhimpur, Khumtai and Bongaigaon, Lakhimpur, Kaliabor.

The entire deal got final seal of approval when both sides held the final meeting at the residence of BJP president Amit Shah in the evening. 

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff

Add new comment