Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rabha women council

The All Rabha Women Council observed it's 22nd foundation day with daylong programme scheduled at Magurmari Chik Chik Club ground in Kokrajhar. 

 The observance was organised by Kokrajhar district unit of the Rabha Women Council to mark it's 22nd annual foundation which gas been working to the welfare of the women community of Rabha in the state. 

The woman council was founded on August 8 in 1993 at Bondapar of Kamrup district to facilitate social, cultural upliftment among Rabha community in the state. 

An open meeting was held on the occasion with Rongjuli Kama, president of the Kokrajhar district unit of the Women Council in the chair. 

BTC executive member Doneswar Goyary graced the meeting as chief guest. 

Among others, Indra Mahan Koch, noted social activist, Rutin Lokbok, president of Kokrajhar district unit ARSU, Tarulata Than gain, secretary if ARWC Kokrajhar district unit were present on the occasion. 

Mamani Rabha, organiser of the foundation said that the Rabha women council has been working to the welfare of the women of the Rabha community since its inception. She said that the women of Rabha community are not getting proper facilities from state government.

She has urged the government to provide facilities of education, social, cultural integration so that the Rabha community can meet healthy cultural tradition in the state.

Author info

Hantigiri Narzary's picture

Reporting from Kokrajhar

Add new comment

Random Stories

Lady brutally beheaded in Udalguri district

30 Mar 2012 - 1:31am | Jayanta Kumar Das
Another lady has again been brutally killed in the name of “Witch hunting” in Udalguri district. One Lakhi Hemrang(40) wife of Bhode Hemrang of the village Baghar Chuburi (12 KM from...

AAMSU stages dharna in Kokrajhar

22 May 2017 - 11:04pm | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
The All Assam Minority Students Union(AAMSU) stages two-hour sit-in-dharna in front DC office in Kokrajhar with banner, placards demanding fully compensation, rehabilitation of BTAD 2012 riot...

UPPL wins 6,BPF 4 ,BJP 2 in BTC

3 May 2021 - 4:27am | AT Kokrajhar Bureau
KOKRAJHAR: UPPL party won six constituencies of the 11 contesting seats while BPF won four seats in the Assam assembly election's results counting today across the four districts of the Bodoland...