Skip to content Skip to navigation

Daoharu Mungkhlong football tournament to begin from Sep 22

The 22nd Daoharu Mungkhlong Football Trophy 2019 is going to start from September 22 at Dotma HS School ground, Kokrajhar.

An organising committee was formed with Sangkharlal Brahma as president and Dahit Chandra Brahma as secretary.

Ten football teams are participating in the tournament - Sunrise FC,Guwahati, Bhopal FC, Madhya Pradesh, Bilwgw Club, West Bengal, Nazira RH FC, Sibsagar, Barhoongkha AC, Kokrajhar, Global Football Academy, Gossaigaon, Eleven Star Bongaigaon, Dhupdhara DC, Goalpara, Reserve Bank of India, Guwahati and DASA XI, Dotma.

The football trophy tournament has been organised every year in memory of the Bodoland martyr who sacrificed their lives for the caused of the Bodoland statehood demand movement.

Author info

AT Kokrajhar Bureau's picture

Assam Times Kokrajhar bureau office, BTAD.

Add new comment


Republish this content

Security forces nabbed one militant, one sympathiser

1 Jun 2011 - 6:13am | editor

Thoubal police commandos today arrested a cadre of banned Kangleipak Communist Party(KCP) from Wangoo Chairen, Thobal district, police said.

Mayanglambam Lokendro Meitei (25) of Wangoo Chairen of the same district was nabbed by the commandos at around 1:30 pm during a search operation.

In another development, a team of Bishnupur district police commandos and 4/8 Gurkha Regiment apprehended a sympathiser of proscribed RPF/PLA last night, police sources said today.

Ngangom Tomba(46), a resident of Yumnao Khunou Mayai Leikai, Bishnupur district was arrested by the combined force from Keinou Bazar. After receiving a tip.

NDFB-S killed in Kokrajhar

21 Apr 2015 - 8:01am | Hantigiri Narzary

Security forces claimed to have killed a NDFB-Songbijit cadre in an encounter at Pepsue along the Indo-Bhutan border under Kachugaon police station in Kokrajhar district on Monday evening. 

Police said that on getting information about presence of the militants at Pepsue area, they raided the area. During exchange of gun fire an NDFB cadre died on the spot. The slain cadre was identified as Praneswar Narzary. A pistol, three live bullets, grenade and magazines were recovered from him. 

17 injured in Kokrajhar train derailment

23 May 2015 - 6:09pm | Hantigiri Narzary

At least 17 persons including locomotor pilots were injured when a passenger train bound for Guwahati derailed at Champamati River Bridge early this morning in Kokrajhar district of Assam.

According to eye witnesses the 55753 up Shipung passenger bound for Mariani via Guwahati derailed as a tree uprooted and fell on the railway track following a storm late last night. The engine of the train derailed just as it reached the middle of the Champamati Bridge on River Champamati.

Three bogies including the engine totally damaged leaving ten persons injured who were immediately rushed to nearby hospitals.

The injured were identified as Manik Ghosh (Locomotor pilot), Jitendra Kumar (assistant locomotor pilot), Subash Baraman, Mahar Ali, Bipin Gami, Deep Narayan, Jahanuddin Ansari, Santosh Saha, Jiten Kumar, Biki Dey, Dilip Sarma, Shyam a Dey, Saraswati Das, Abdul Salam, Ainush Ali, Pampa Sarkar, Krishna Bahadur Chetry and Lakhi Sarkar. Passengers alleged that the incident occurred due to lack of regular inspections ahead of diverting trains along the tracks.

High officials from NF Railway, police and district administration official visited the spot to take stock of the incident and ensured support like medical, relief aids were given to the affected passengers.

Sanjiv Kishore, DRM of Alipurduar division also visited the spot and took stock of the incident.

Kishore said that concerned officials were taking necessary steps to clear the rail line. He confirmed that the medical, engineering and rescue groups were engaged in rescue and recovery.

The train services through up line was disrupted since morning and continued services via single way said a senior official who visited the spot.