Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hojai's Noted Dancer to be honoured with Kalaguru Bishnu Prasad Award 2019

Hojai's Manipuri dance exponent Kumari Laitjonam Ebampisok Devi to be confered with Kalaguru Bishnu Rabha Award 2019.The award ceremony will be held at Tahsil Maidan in Rongjuli area of Goalpara district on the occasion of Bishnu Rabha Divas on June 20.Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will present this award to her. This award comprises of a certificate, cash award and an angavastra. Notably, Manipuri danseuse Kumari Laitjonam Ebampisok Devi has enthralled the audiences over the years with her various folk dance forms like Eswai Nritya , Krishna Nritya , Moirangsai Nritya , Nimai Sanyasi, Yogi Bhesh, Rasleela Nritya, Naitam Nritya and so on.She has received the gold medal of Manipur government in 1990, Tombi Devi gold medal in 1990, the gold medal of Manipur Sahitya Parishad in 1998 and has been  honoured with many other awards and certificates for her enormous in the field of dance.The dancer has also been enlisted under the Silpi Pension of the Assam government.

Author info

Nikhil Mundra's picture

Journalist Based in Hojai Town.

Add new comment


Republish this content

National Voters' Day celebrated

25 Jan 2016 - 6:44pm | Hantigiri Narzary

The 6th National Voters' Day was celebrated  in Chirang district along with the rest of the country on Monday. In this connection, a motor cycle rally and a function  was organized. The rally was flagged off by Chirang Deputy Commissioner, Rupak Kumar Mazumdar carrying with slogans for generating voters awareness about their rights and duties moved to those polling areas where voting turn out was low during last elections and held discussions with the public on the importance of voters' participation  in the electoral process.

Conducting  a meeting held in the conference hall of the Chirang DC office at Kajalgaon, DC Mazumdar spoke about the aims and objectives of the NVD celebration and urged the people to be more aware towards their rights and duties. He also suggested the young people and women to come forward to take full participation in choosing the right leaders to govern us. On the occasion, the DC administered the voters' pledge and welcomed the newly registered voters.

ADC Dasarath Das, AC and EO Dhrubajyati Das, AEROs and BLOs of 31-Sidli LAC were present in the meeting.

AGP announcement soon

9 Mar 2014 - 2:29pm | AT News

AGP is gearing up for the Lok Sabha polls slated for April 7, 12 and 24.

The regional party failed to reach out to BJP for an alliance. That’s why, the leadership wants to go it alone.

The list is under serious consideration. Pradeep Hazarika will be the party’s candidate for Jorhat. In Dibrugarh, the party is all set to field Anup Phukan or Sunil Rajlkonwar.

Dr Arun Sarma’s name is taking the lead in Lakhimpur seat. But the party is seriously considering the name of Hariprasad Dihingia.

In Tezpur, the party is believed to have finalized the name of Joseph Toppo. Thde party is expected to field Phani Bhushan Chaudhury in Barpeta against BJP candidate Chandra Mohan Patowary.

Birendra Prasad Baishya’s name is final in Guwahati who will face Bijoya Chakravartty from BJP apart from Manas Bora from Congress.

ATSU bandh peaceful

4 Sep 2014 - 7:28pm | Dibya J Borthakur
The 12-hour middle Assam bandh called by All Tiwa Students' Union (ATSU ) today passed off peacefully at Raha and its neighbouring areas Dharamtul, Ahatguri, Chaparmukh,Barapujia, Phulaguri, Demow without any untoward incident. All government offices, educational institutions and shops and business establishments remained closed as the bandh paralysed normal life here. Talking to the Assam Times police said no untoward incident was reported and the situation remained peaceful because of tight security.The NH 37 wore a deserted look with no vehicle, except those carrying sick people to hospitals, plying on the roads.