Skip to content Skip to navigation

Flutter in Golaghat town

An unidentified call has created a flutter in the entire Golaghat town on Friday forcing the authorities to beef up security measures. According to information, a Bar Association member Sashanka Tamuly has received an unidentified telephone call at 1 pm on Friday. The caller has threatened to blow up all the offices in the town barring the Apex Bank. As soon as the message spread like wild fire, the authorities are fanning police and para military troops in the town to launch a vigorous search operation. Even sniffer dogs are being deployed to spot the exact caller and explosive materials if any. Details are awaited.
Author info

editor's picture

Please send your comments to

Add new comment


Republish this content

AGP-BJP alliance retains Nagaon, Congress wins Kaliabor

17 May 2009 - 2:51am | Dibya J Borthakur

BJP-AGP supported candidate for Nagaon Lok Sabha seat Rajen Gohain retained the prestigious Nagaon seat defeating his nearest political rival Anil Raja of Congress by more than 45,000 votes. Rajen Gohain secured 3,80,118 while Anil Raja secured 3,34,818 votes. This is for the third time Gohain has won the Nagaon LS seat.On the other hand AUDF candidate Sirajuddin Ajmal secured 2,05,591 votes.

It is worth mentioning that BJP took lead in Nagaon, Raha, Jagiroad, Barhampur,Hojai,and Lumding while Congress party in Morigaon , Laharighat and AUDF in Jamunamukh LAC’s. A total of 9,99,180 votes were polled out of 14,17,609.

Again Dip Gogoi, brother of the Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi , of Congress retained the Kaliabor HPC by defeating his nearest rival Gunin Hajarika of AJP-BJP alliance by over 1,50,442 votes. Dip Gogoi secured 4,32,257 votes while Gunin Hajarika secured 2,81,815 votes. Again AUDF candidate Sirajuddin Ajmal secured 1,90,375 votes. Here Congress took lead in Batadrava,Samaguri,Bokakhat,khumtai,Sarupathar,Golaghat and Dergaon LAC’s while AGP took lead in Kaliabor and AUDF in Dhing and Rupohihat. A total of 9,29,735 votes were polled out 0f 13,46,255.

Joint security review meeting for South Assam

6 Mar 2013 - 6:19pm | Anup Biswas

To review the security situation in South Assam including Dima Hasao, a Joint Security Review Meeting, was held under the aegis of HQ 22 Sector Assam Rifles at Masimpur Military Station near Silchar on Monday, stated a press release issued on Tuesday.

The meeting was attended by high ranking Civil Administration, Police, BSF, CRPF, Assam Rifles and Army officials. The attendees included Mr M Ariz Ahmed, IAS, Commissioner Hill and Barak Valley Division, Brigadier Gajinder Singh, Commander Assam Rifles, Shri Binod Kumar, DIG Police, Shri UC Hazarika, DIG BSF, Smt Usha Kiran, DIG CRPF and other high ranking Assam Rifles and Army officials along with Deputy Commissioners and Superintendents of Police of Dima Hasao, Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi districts of South Assam. Maj Gen Satish Dua, SM, IGAR (East) was a special invitee for this first ever meeting of its kind whose aim was to coordinate and synergise joint efforts in ensuring peace and security of people of South Assam.

 During the meeting it emerged that the security situation in South Assam is under control, however still there are a number of militant groups which are active and are indulging in extortion and tax collection activity especially along the border areas. It was decided that resources of all agencies will be synergized and coordinated to further consolidate the gains of the recent past, so that peace and tranquility prevails in the region.

All senior officers present in the conference appreciated the excellent cooperation between various agencies and worked out a plan for future action. It was also decided that District Level Coordination committee meetings will be held on a monthly basis in all Districts of South Assam. Thereafter the officials also interacted with the representatives of ONGC, BSNL and PGCIL and addressed their security concerns



50 year in Journalism: Radhika Mohan Bhagawati

22 Jan 2008 - 7:44am | editor

Father of Assamese journalism Radhika Mohan Bhagawati is being felicitated by Union Minster for Information and Broadcasting Priyaranjan Dasmunshi as he completes 50 year in the Journalism field at a programme organized during the 3rd Foundation day celebration of Assamese newspaper "Ajir Dainik Batori" at Guwahati on 22-01-08.

Pix by UB Photos.