Skip to content Skip to navigation

AGP announces 7 candidates

Finally, AGP has announced the list of seven candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls slated for April 7, 12 and 24.

Party president Prafulla Kumar Mahanta formally announced the list after a brain storming session of the steering committee meeting at the party headquarters.

Outgoing Rajya Sabha MP Birendra Prasad Biashya will contest from Guwahati while Phani Bhushan Chaudhury will contest from Barpeta.

Dr Arun Sarma will contest from Koliabor while Hariprasad Dihingia got party ticket to contest from Lakhimpur.

The regional party has fielded Pradeep Hazarika from Jorhat allowing Anup Phukan from Dibrugarh. Mridula Borkotoky will contest from Nagaon two days after she joined the party.

Author info

AT News's picture

Assam Times Staff


Add new comment


Republish this content

More Stories

CBI to probe 7 cases against Brahma

25 Aug 2012 - 4:40am | editor
Dispur is all set to hand over seven more cases to CBI for investigation registered against arrested BPF MLA Pradeep Brahma. Brahma has been named in seven cases after witnesses complained that he...

Assam Election 2011: The rise of AIUDF, “who is Tarun Gogoi?

17 May 2011 - 11:22am | Peter Alex Todd
The Congress under the leadership of Tarun Gogoi, may have created history in the 2011 election but alongside more negative history have been written too. The marginalization of the AGP and the...

Why No to R-Day! Listen to NE rebels

25 Jan 2018 - 11:32am | AT News
GUWAHATI: ULFA(I) has released a video opposing the 69th  nationwide Republic Day celebrations slated for Friday. Apart from a speech explaining the reasons behind the futile celebration of the...